Skip Navigation


Our Faculty

Armstrong Institute Headquarters Core Faculty

Sean Berenholtz, M.D.
Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Berenholtz has served as principle investigator or co-investigator on more than a dozen grants or contracts to develop, implement and evaluate patient safety improvement efforts. These include national and statewide programs that reduced central line-related bloodstream infections, surgical site infections, ventilator-associated pneumonia and other complications.

Hanan Aboumatar, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine

Dr. Aboumatar’s research focuses on improving patient-centered outcomes via increased patient and family engagement and activation, and employment of multilevel strategies to improve patient-centeredness of care delivery. She directs the institute’s Center for Engagement and Patient-Centered Innovations.

Matt Austin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Austin’s research focuses on evaluating and improving measures of patient safety and health care quality. Among other roles, he provides strategic guidance to The Leapfrog Group on performance measures for its annual Hospital Survey and Hospital Safety Grade.

Lauren Benishek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

An industrial/organizational psychologist, Dr. Benishek focuses her research on professional talent development, safety and well-being, as well as teamwork and unit dynamics. She is also supporting the institute’s efforts to build capacity in patient safety and quality improvement leadership across Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Ayse Gurses, M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Gurses is a human factors engineer with expertise in patient safety, health care technology design, and usability evaluation. Among other projects, she has focused on improving patient safety in the cardiac operating room, transitions of care/handoffs, care coordination, compliance of providers with evidence-based guidelines and nursing working conditions. She leads the institute’s Center for Health Care Human Factors.

Lisa Lubomski, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Lubomski’s work focuses on improving patient safety and quality through large-scale collaborative efforts focused on the delivery of evidence-based care, improving teamwork and communication in multidisciplinary teams, translating evidence into practice, data collection and management, and research ethics in quality improvement. She is a faculty advisor to Johns Hopkins Health System’s Clinical Communities, manages the Armstrong Institute’s Research in Progress seminar series, and is the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program executive for the Green Spring Station ob-gyn service.

Jill Marsteller, Ph.D.
Professor of Health Policy and Management, School of Public Health

Dr. Marsteller is a health services researcher who specializes in organizational behavior and theory, specifically in estimating the influence of organizational variables and contextual measures on quality improvement activities. She focuses her research on the determinants of successful implementation, dissemination, and sustainability of knowledge. Marsteller chairs the institute’s Research Facilitation Council Chair and is a member of its Executive Committee and Faculty Review Committee.

Simon C. Mathews, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine

As the Armstrong Institute’s head of clinical innovation, Dr. Mathews leads efforts to leverage technology to advance quality and safety. He is also active in the institute’s ongoing mission to transform hospitals and health systems into highly reliable organizations by strengthening governance structures for safety and quality improvement. He serves as assistant director at the institute’s location at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. He is also a practicing gastroenterologist with a focus on quality and safety outcomes.

Michael Rosen, M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Rosen is a human factors psychologist whose research focuses on teamwork and patient safety, simulation for training and work system design and evaluation, unobtrusive and sociometric measurement systems, implementation science, leadership and change management for safety and quality improvement.

David A. Thompson, D.N.Sc., M.S.
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Thompson’s focuses his research on patient outcomes, patient safety and quality improvement initiatives, translating evidence into practice, implementation science, and multidisciplinary teamwork and safety curriculum development. He trains and collaborates with frontline caregivers on evidence-based practice improvement initiatives in patient safety and quality. Dr. Thompson chairs the institute’s Grand Rounds Committee and sits on its Faculty Review Committee.

Anping Xie, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Xie uses human factors and systems engineering approaches to improve the quality of care and patient safety. Among other topics, his research has focused on improving patient and family engagement, infection prevention, cleaning of hospital rooms, and clinical decision support.

Christina Yuan, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Yuan’s research focuses on the dissemination and implementation of health care innovations, with a special interest in how health care providers influence and learn from one another. She is a member if the institute’s Faculty Review Committee and Research Facilitation Council.

Meet more Armstrong faculty from across Johns Hopkins

School of Medicine

Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

James Abernathy
Michael Grant
Theresa Hartsell
Asad Latif
Adam Sapirstein
Christopher Wu


Sewon Kang

Emergency Medicine

Gabe Kelen
Scott Levin
Julius Pham
John Ulatowski


Alicia Arbaje
Eric Bass
Lisa Cooper
Sara Cosgrove
Sherita Golden
Felicia Hill-Briggs

Sara Keller
Lisa Maragakis

Samantha Pitts
Lawrence Ramunno
Clare Rock
Geeta Sood
Rosalyn Stewart

Nestoras Mathioudakis
Scott Wright
Jonathan Zenilman


Justin McArthur
David Newman-Toker


Henry Brem


Theodore DeWeese
William Nelson

Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

Emily Boss
Lisa Ishii
Matthew Stewart


Peter McDonnell


George Dover
Julia Kim
Aaron Milstone
Brigitta Mueller

Pediatric Oncology

Allen Chen

Plastic Surgery

Gedge Rosson


Dale Needham


Ray DePaulo
Geetha Jayaram


Paul Nagy


Elliott Haut
Martin Makary


Alan Partin

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

Eric Howell
Steven Kravet
Nishi Rawat


Kenneth Shermock

School of Public Health

Sydney Dy
Thomas Louis
Laura Morlock

William Padula
Albert Wu

Carey Business School

Maqbool Dada
Jemima Frimpong
Christopher Myers
Phillip Phan
Kathleen Sutcliffe

Whiting School of Engineering

Suchi Saria

School of Nursing

Cheryl Dennison-Himmelfarb

back to top button