Faculty Education Scholars Program

How to Apply

The Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE) of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine is pleased to announce a call for applications for our Faculty Education Scholars Program. Each award provides up to $50,000 for 12-18 months to a faculty member or team (maximum of three faculty members) who exhibit promise, innovation, talent and enthusiasm as educators.

The Berkheimer endowment honors Dr. George A. Berkheimer and his wife, Margaret Yates Berkheimer. Dr. Berkheimer graduated from the JHUSOM in 1938, completed training in orthopedic surgery and had a distinguished 35-year career as a surgeon and teacher. His wife was an accomplished writer and journalist. Their mutual commitment to teaching excellence was the impetus for this faculty scholar award in their honor. In 2020, an anonymous donor committed to the work of the IEE generously provided funding for an Education Innovator grant.

The Faculty Education Scholar Program has two intentions: (1) to provide support to complete a scholarly project, and (2) to foster the career development of future educational leaders. Proposals with an international focus, provided it relates to the JHUSOM, are also encouraged. Proposals should improve and enhance education and have direct benefit for medical or graduate students, residents, clinical or post-doctoral fellows, faculty or peers at JHUSOM. For international proposals, SOM faculty should have an established relationship with the international site. It is also expected that work emanating from the grant have implications for education locally, nationally and/or internationally.

For those interested, Dr. Stephen Sozio of the IEE small grants mentoring committee is available (time and demand permitting) to discuss your submission with you. For anyone who wishes to discuss their submission in advance, please contact [email protected].


All active full and part-time faculty of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine are eligible to apply. Applications may be submitted by an individual faculty member or faculty team of up to three.

Governing Committees

Director of the IEE Faculty Education Scholars Program

Nicole Shilkofski, M.D., M.Ed.

Selection Committee

Nicole Shilkofski, M.D., M.Ed. (Chair), Jessica L. Bienstock, M.D., M.P.H., Joseph Cofrancesco Jr., M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P. (non-voting member), Brian Garibaldi, M.D.Mitchell A. Goldstein, M.D., Susan Lehmann, M.D., Pamela A. Lipsett, M.D., M.H.P.E., F.A.C.S., F.C.C.M., Michael T. Melia, M.D.Stephen C. Yang, M.D.

Current Recipient of the Berkheimer Grant

Project Title: Management of Agitation for Complex Neurobehavioral Syndromes in the General Hospital Setting

Durga Roy, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Director of Education, Bayview Psychiatry; Medical Director, Johns Hopkins Bayview Neuropsychiatry Clinic; Director, Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Fellowship

Durga Roy, M.D.

Current Recipient of the Innovator Grant

Project Title: Virtual Experiential Operative Learning to Transform (VEOLT) Surgical Training

Lilah Morris-Wiseman, M.D.

Associate Professor of Surgery

Lilah Morris-Wiseman, MD

See Past Recipients

The International Faculty Education Scholar Grant

The International Faculty Education Scholar Grant was available during the years 2013 and 2014. This two-year funding commitment by the Office of the Vice Dean for Education of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine was designed to further the SOM's commitment to international medical and biomedical education.

See Past Recipients

Contact Us

Should you have questions about the application, process or any other issues, please contact:

Nicole Shilkofski, M.D., M.Ed.

Chair, Faculty Education Scholar Grant Selection Committee
Member, IEE Managing Board
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Email: [email protected]

Joseph Cofrancesco Jr., M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P.

Director, IEE
Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education Professor of Medicine
Email: [email protected]

Michael Westman, B.S.

Program Administrator, Institute for Excellence in Education
Email: [email protected]