Shark Tank

Sharks photoshopped onto image of Shark Tank members.

Shark Tank has become a big hit at our education conference. In years past, four to five finalists have been selected to present proposals to our panel of Education Scholarship Sharks, who then distributed $10,000 among the project(s). It's always possible that the best proposal might get it all, or it might be divided among projects!

Selected proposal presenters will have ten minutes to make a virtual presentation, with or without PowerPoint slides. After each presenter has answered pointed questions and worked with the sharks, a final proposal or proposals will be awarded the money.

This is a great opportunity to receive feedback from recognized educational experts, understand the kinds of things expert review panels consider, and get funding for a medical/biomedical/health education project.

ONLY JHU SOM members are eligible to apply.

Details of Submission

The deadline for proposal submission is January 15th, 2024, 12:00 p.m. 

  • Proposals:

    • Proposals should address a topic or innovation in medical, biomedical or health education important at Hopkins, with national and/or international implications.

  • Eligibility:

    • IEE Education Shark Tank Grant proposals must include a JHUSOM faculty member.
    • Learner proposals are welcomed, provided there is a JHUSOM faculty member as a team member and/or mentor.
    • Involvement of other JHU schools is welcomed, provided there is a JHUSOM faculty member as team member and/or mentor.

If interested in presenting, please submit a proposal to [email protected] with:

  • A cover page with the following information for primary and other investigators:
    • Name
    • Department
    • Division (if applicable)
    • Academic Rank
    • Email
    • Team Members
  • A one paragraph (350 word limit) summary of the project, describing:
    • Why is this important?
    • What do you plan to do?
    • How will you demonstrate that it works?
    • What is your budget?

Submit a Proposal

Should you have any questions or need clarification, please contact Dr. Joseph Cofrancesco, Jr., Director of the IEE.

View all events


  • Jessica Linda Bienstock, M.D., M.P.H.

    • Director, Division of Education, Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics
    • Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education/DIO
    • Director of Graduate Clinical Education
    • Professor of Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • Rita F. D'Aoust, Ph.D., M.S.

    • Joint Appointment in Medicine
  • Pamela Ann Lipsett, M.D.

    • Program Director, Surgical Critical Care
    • Program Director, General Surgery
    • Co-Director Surgical Intensive Care Units
    • Professor of Surgery
    • Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
  • Scott Mitchell Wright, M.D.

    • Director, GIM, JHBMC
    • Chief, General Internal Medicine
    • Director, Miller-Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence
    • Professor of Medicine
  • Roy Charles Ziegelstein, M.D.

    • Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr. Professor of Medicine
    • Vice Dean for Education, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    • Mary Wallace Stanton Professor of Education
    • Professor of Medicine

Past Shark Tank Award Recipients