In This Section      

2018 Outstanding Educator Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement in Education Award

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards

Lifetime Achievement in Education Award

The Martin D. Abeloff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education

This is the most distinguished of the IEE's awards and is meant to recognize a lifetime of achievement. It is awarded by the IEE Board of Directors to recognize that achievement. The award is given at the annual IEE Education Conference and Celebration.


David S. Zee, MD

Professor of Neurology, Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery, and Neuroscience

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards

The IEE offers peer nominated and peer reviewed awards to recognize outstanding achievement in education. Awards are given at the annual IEE Education Conference and Celebration. Each award winner receives a certificate, and a $1000 honorarium.

The Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education

This award is named in honor of Lisa J. Heiser, MA, NCC, LCPC, past Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Equity, Johns Hopkins Medicine. Lisa was the embodiment of what makes Johns Hopkins Medicine special; smart and multi-talented, combining fierce tenacity and commitment with tremendous personal warmth, friendliness and collegiality. In the short time Lisa served as an assistant dean until her passing, she developed an impressive portfolio of programs and initiatives that have transcended the founding vision of her office, fostering the development of all faculty members. The Heiser award is given to one junior faculty member, on faculty five years or less, who has made an outstanding contribution in medical and biomedical education, and shown great promise for future meaningful contributions.


Nancy L. Schoenborn, MD, MHS

Assistant Professor, Medicine


Ten or More Years on Faculty


Gail V. Berkenblit, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Associate Program Director for Ambulatory Education, Osler Medicine Training Program

Less than Ten Years on Faculty


Rachel Maria E. Salas, MD, FAAN

Associate Professor, Neurology and Nursing
Director, Interprofessional Education and Interprofessional Collaborative Practice
Director, Neurology Clerkship
Director, PreDoc Program

Part-Time Faculty


Bernard G. Jaar, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor, Medicine and Epidemiology

Leadership and Mentoring


Jeanne M. Clark, MD, MPH, FACP, FTOS

Professor, Medicine
Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Executive Director, Johns Hopkins Brancati Center for the Advancement of Community Care

Educational Scholarship

HanyokLaura A. Hanyok, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director, Resident Continuity Clinic
Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education

Educational Innovation


Lauren M. Osborne, MD

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Assistant Director, Johns Hopkins Women's Mood Disorders Center

Educational Program

Advancing Bedside Cardiopulmonary Physical Examination Skills (ACE)


Brian T .Garibaldi, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Associate Program Director for Clinical Skills and Curriculum, Osler Medical Residency Program
Medical Director, Johns Hopkins Biocontainment Unit



NiessenTimothy Niessen, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Medicine



Please contact us if you or someone you know has received a teaching or educational award or received recognition, by sending us a message with all the details.