In This Section      

2017 Outstanding Educator Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement in Education Award

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards

Lifetime Achievement in Education Award

The Martin D. Abeloff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education

This is the most distinguished of the IEE's awards and is meant to recognize a lifetime of achievement. It is awarded by the IEE Board of Directors to recognize that achievement. The award is given at the annual IEE Education Conference and Celebration.

Photo of  David E. Kern, MD, MPH, MACP

David M. Levine, MD, ScD, MPH

Samsung Professor of Medicine, Public Health and Nursing
Director, Office of Postdoctoral Fellowship Programs
Co-director, NIH Research Training Grant

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards

The IEE offers peer nominated and peer reviewed awards to recognize outstanding achievement in education. Awards are given at the annual IEE Education Conference and Celebration. Each award winner receives a certificate, and a $1000 honorarium.

The Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education

This award is named in honor of Lisa J. Heiser, MA, NCC, LCPC, past Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Equity, Johns Hopkins Medicine. Lisa was the embodiment of what makes Johns Hopkins Medicine special; smart and multi-talented, combining fierce tenacity and commitment with tremendous personal warmth, friendliness and collegiality. In the short time Lisa served as an assistant dean until her passing, she developed an impressive portfolio of programs and initiatives that have transcended the founding vision of her office, fostering the development of all faculty members. The Heiser award is given to one junior faculty member, on faculty five years or less, who has made an outstanding contribution in medical and biomedical education, and shown great promise for future meaningful contributions.

Heather Sateia

Heather F. Sateia, MD

Assistant Professor, Medicine


Ten or More Years on Faculty

Brent Petty

Brent G. Petty, MD

Associate Professor, Medicine
Chair, Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee

Less than Ten Years on Faculty

Sammy Zakaria

Sammy Zakaria, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor, Medicine
Associate Program Director, Johns Hopkins Bayview Internal Medicine Residency

Part-Time Faculty

Belinda Chen

Belinda Y. Chen, MD

Instructor, Medicine
Director, Faculty Development Program in Curriculum Development

Leadership and Mentoring

Bruce Leff

Bruce A. Leff, MD

Professor, Medicine
Director, The Center for Transformative Geriatric Research



Educational Scholarship

Leonard FeldmanLeonard S. Feldman, MD

Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Medicine-Pediatrics Urban Health Residency Program

Educational Innovation


Belinda Chen, MD

Instructor, Medicine
Director, Faculty Development Program in Curriculum Development

Sean Tackett, MD, MPH

Instructor of Medicine

Educational Program

Osler Wellness Program


Kelliann Dell

Kelliann Dell

Medical Training Program Manager




Sanjay Desai

Sanjay V. Desai, MD, FACP

Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Osler Medical Training Program
Vice Chair, Education, Department of Medicine


PlaceholderRicha Gupta, MD

Fellow & Resident, Medicine




Photo of Ariel Green, MD, MPHJennifer Jackson

Medical Training Program Administrator



RazzakAbdul Rab Razzak, MBBS, MD

Assistant Professor, Medicine
Director, Outpatient Palliative Medicine




PlaceholderMichelle Sharp, MD

Clinical Fellow, Medicine

Please contact us if you or someone you know has received a teaching or educational award or received recognition, by sending us a message with all the details.