News and Stories

Previous News



American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

Johns Hopkins researcher Elana Fertig has been named to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows. She has been elected by her peers for her outstanding contributions to cancer systems biology and multi-omics. The College of Fellows comprises the top 2% of medical and biological engineers in the United States. Read more.

National Academy of Sciences

Neuroscientist Alex Kolodkin has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Sciences serves as an advisory council to the country on issues of science and technology. Kolodkin joins over 2,500 members who are distinguished scientific researchers. Read more.

Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award

Biomedical engineer Jamie Spangler has been awarded a 2022 Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. The award recognizes “high-risk, high-reward” research that has the potential to impact cancer prevention, diagnosis or treatment. By developing novel antibody therapeutics, Spangler aims to increase the number of people with cancer who benefit from immunotherapies. Read more.

Elisa Izaurralde Award

Congratulations to molecular biologist Luisa Cochella for receiving the 2022 Elisa Izaurralde Award for Innovation in Research, Teaching and Service from the RNA Society. The RNA Society awarded Cochella for her work on the role of microRNAs in animal development, cell-type specification and cellular physiology, as well as for her mentorship and leadership in the field. Read more.