School of Medicine Dean’s Distinguished Mentoring Award

The Dean’s Distinguished Mentoring Award honors a Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine faculty member whose exceptional career has included the mentoring of individuals who have gone on to establish independent, eminent careers in academic medicine. The Dean's Distinguished Mentoring Award is supported by a gift from Dr. Frances Meyer and Dr. Paul Rothman.

2024 School of Medicine Dean’s Distinguished Mentoring Award Lecture 
Friday, May 10, from 4–5 p.m. 
Johns Hopkins Hospital Chevy Chase Bank Auditorium 

Dr. Hellman

2024 Award Recipient

David B. Hellmann, M.D., M.A.C.P.
Aliki Perroti Professor of Medicine
David B. Hellmann, M.D. Endowed Professorship
Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Innovative Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Lecture on the Importance of Mentoring: “The Bleeding Always Stops” 
William R. Brody, M.D., Ph.D.
Past President of The Johns Hopkins University (1996–2009)

2023 Award Recipient

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, M.D., FAACR, FACP, FAAAS 
The Dana and Albert “Cubby” Broccoli Professor of Oncology
Deputy Director, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins
Co-Director, Gastrointestinal Cancers Program

Guest Speaker: David A. Tuveson, M.D., Ph.D.
Director of the Cancer Center at CSHL & Roy J. Zuckerberg Professor of Cancer Research
Chief Scientist, Lustgarten Foundation
Past President, AACR

Watch the recording

2022 Award Recipient

Charles Cummings, M.D.
Distinguished Service Professor of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery

Lecture: “Dr. Charles W. Cummings: Inside the Mind of a Mentor”
Charles Limb, M.D.
Francis A. Sooy professor and chief of the division of otology, neurotology and skull base surgery at the UCSF School of Medicine

Watch the recording

2021 Award Recipient

Henry Brem, M.D.
Harvey Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery
Director of the Department of Neurosurgery
Neurosurgeon-in-Chief, The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Lecture: “From the Discovery of the First Angiogenesis Inhibitors to the Development of Controlled Drug Delivery Systems for Treating Nearly Any Disease: My Journey with Henry Brem”
Robert Langer, Sc.D.
David H. Koch Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Watch the recording.

2020 Award Recipient

Catherine DeAngelis, M.D.
University Distinguished Service Professor Emerita

Lecture: “Health Equity: We Can't Have One Without the Other”
Richard Besser, M.D.
President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Watch the recording.

2019 Award Recipient

Mike Weisfeldt, M.D.
Professor of Medicine

Lecture: “From Academia, to Government and Industry: Lessons Learned About Biomedical Sciences”
Elias Zerhouni, M.D.
Professor Emeritus of Radiology and Biomedical Engineering
Former Executive Vice Dean, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

2018 Award Recipient

George Bigelow, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Lecture: “Ending the Opioid Crisis: The Role of Science”
Nora Volkow, M.D.
Director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, National Institutes of Health

2017 Award Recipient

Donald Coffey, Ph.D.
Distinguished Service Professor of Urology
Professor Emeritus of Oncology, Pathology, and Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences

Lecture: “The Changing Landscape of Cancer Drug Resistance”
Charles Sawyers, M.D.
Chair of the Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

2016 Award Recipient

Guy McKhann, M.D.
First director, Department of Neurology
Founding director, Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute

Lecture: “The Age of Insight: The Quest to Understand the Unconscious in Art, Mind, and Brain from Vienna 1900 to the Present”
Eric Kandel, M.D.
Director of the Kavli Institute for Brain Science, Columbia University