Skip Navigation

INSTITUTE FOR BASIC BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES Fundamental research that drives advances in medicine Fundamental research that drives advances in medicine advance to content


  • Donate to Basic Research

    Philanthropic support has never been more critically important than it is today, nor has the potential return on investment been greater.

  • View Institute Events

    Please check this page frequently for information about IBBS seminars and major IBBS symposia.


Find a Collaborator

Find the right Institute faculty member by searching by last name, specialty or other keyword.


View All News Releases

  • Basic Science Departments

    Among nine basic science departments, more than 150 make discoveries to transform medicine.

    Basic Science Departments
  • Core Services

    The Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences is home to several centralized fee-for-service facilities open to all researchers at Johns Hopkins and beyond.

    Core Services
  • Research Centers

    Several research centers are supported by the Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences.

    Research Centers
  • Meet our Faculty

    Learn about the research of some of the 150 faculty members affiliated with the Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences.

    Meet our Faculty



(Top row, left to right) Pablo A. Celnik, M.D., Ted M. Dawson, M.D., Ph.D., Darrell J. Gaskin, Ph.D., M.S., Jessica Gill, R.N., Ph.D., Sherita Hill Golden, M.D., M.H.S. (Bottow row, left to right) Taekjip Ha, Ph.D., Drew Pardoll, M.D., Ph.D., Sarah L. Szanton, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., Tener Goodwin Veenema, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S., F.A.A.N., Cynthia Wolberger, Ph.D.
Ten Johns Hopkins faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, including Ted Dawson, M.D., Ph.D., Taekjip Ha, Ph.D., and Cynthia Wolberger, Ph.D. They will serve with the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as advisers for the nation and the international community. Read more.
Photo of Andrew Ewald
Andrew Ewald, Ph.D., director, Johns Hopkins Department of Cell Biology, has been elected as a fellow of the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). Fellows are elected by peer ASCB members and recognized for their contributions to the organization and the field of cell biology at large. Read more.
back to top button