Skip Navigation


GIM Housestaff Research Awards

Award Requirements  |  Submit Application  |  Previous Award Winners

We offer several awards, each named for an internationally regarded mentor and researcher at Johns Hopkins with a faculty appointment in the Division of General Internal Medicine.

L. Randol Barker – David E. Kern Award

For achievement in medical education

L. Randol Barker, MD, ScM, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. Dr. Barker's core interests are in how learning occurs in clinical medicine, and in the professionalism of the educator-learner relationship. In 2001, he was awarded SGIM’s Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education. David E. Kern, MD, MPH, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director/Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. He has been a leader in general internal medicine residency training, faculty and curriculum development, and communication skills training. He has received numerous awards, including awards for his mentorship, role as a division leader, and the 2003 SGIM Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education.

2021 Award Recipient

Alissa Chen, MD, MPH

MD - McGovern Medical School
Residency - Primary Care Internal Medicine, Yale University

Abstract: Barriers to reporting student mistreatment: a peer-to-peer study

Geetanjali Chander Award

For achievement in addiction research

Geetanjali Chander, MD, MPH, is a Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology who has conducted epidemiologic, intervention and clinical outcomes research at the intersection of substance use and chronic disease, including chronic infectious disease. Dr. Chander has a particular interest in reducing disparities in vulnerable populations by increasing access to evidence-based substance use care in community-based and non-traditional clinical settings. She is the Director of Community-based Research for the Brancati Center for the Advancement of Community Care and the Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Program for HIV Outcomes Research.

2021 Award Recipient

Priyal Gandhi, MD

MD - Johns Hopkins University
Residency - Urban Health Primary Care, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Abstract: Alternative Use of Buprenorphine Among People Who Use Opioids in Three U.S. Cities

Lisa A. Cooper – David M. Levine Award

For achievement in behavioral medicine and health disparities

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH, is the James F. Fries Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and holds joint appointments in the Bloomberg School of Public Health and School of Nursing. She is the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Equity in Health and Healthcare and in 2020 was named director of the Johns Hopkins Urban Health Institute. Her pioneering research has sought to document and then address the needs of populations experiencing health disparities. David M. Levine, MD, MPH, ScD, is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Health Behavior & Society and former Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine. He was the founding PI for a multi-disciplinary NIH-funded training program (T32) which was continuously funded for over 40 years. In recognition of his unsurpassed reputation as a research mentor, the Department of Medicine at Hopkins has institutionalized his legacy with the annual “Levine Award” for outstanding faculty mentors. Dr. Levine is renowned for his research on health behaviors related to disparities in cardiovascular risk and disease.

2021 Award Recipient

Anisha Ganguly, MD, MPH

MD - University of Texas
Residency - Internal Medicine, University of Washington

Abstract: Race and Satisfaction with Pain Management among Patients with HIV Receiving Long-Term Opioid Therapy

Daniel E. Ford - Jodi B. Segal Award

For achievement in health services and outcomes research

Daniel E. Ford, MD, MPH, is Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Health Policy & Management; former Director of the Johns Hopkins Preventive Medicine Residency and the University Health Service; and served as Vice Dean for Clinical Research from 2005-2021. His is the Principal Investigator of the institution’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) which supports the Clinical Research Units at Johns Hopkins. He is also a national leader for his own research on the treatment of depression in primary care. Jodi B. Segal, MD, MPH, is Professor of Medicine, Health Policy & Management, and Epidemiology. She has been a national leader in comparative effectiveness research and developed the first course offered in the U.S. in the field. Her research interests include pharmacoepidemiology and health care overutilization. At Hopkins, she is an Associate Director of the Center for Health Services and Outcomes Research and co-directs the Center for Drug Safety and Effectiveness. She is a fellow of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology and the American College of Physicians; and serves as a deputy editor of Annals of Internal Medicine.

2021 Award Recipient

Adam Markovitz, MD, PhD

MD - University of Michigan
Residency - Internal Medicine, University of Michigan

Abstract: Double Bonuses to Medicare Advantage Plans Do Not Improve Enrollment or Quality and Drive Racial Disparities in Payments

Richard D. Moore Award

For achievement in clinical care and research in HIV

Richard D. Moore, MD, is a Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology who has conducted HIV-associated epidemiologic and clinical outcomes research, publishing extensively on HIV/AIDS natural history, treatment and outcomes. He is the Director of the Johns Hopkins Program for HIV Outcomes Research. He is also the principal investigator of the Johns Hopkins HIV Clinical Cohort since 1989, the North American AIDS Cohort Collaboration on Research and Design, a multisite HIV cohort that combines 21 single-site and multi-site cohorts, and of the HIV Research Network, a consortium of 18 HIV care sites throughout the U.S. and funded by AHRQ and HRSA to conduct research in health resources utilization.

2021 Award Recipient

Mark Lieber, MD, MSc, MA

MD - University of California
Residency - Internal Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Abstract: The Synergistic Relationship between Climate Change and the HIV/AIDS Epidemic: A Conceptual Framework

Awardees will present winning abstracts to the Johns Hopkins GIM faculty during a special divisional grand rounds held on Friday, December 3, 2021.

If you are a house officer who has conducted research in any of these GIM-related areas and you are on track for a career in academic general internal medicine, we invite you to compete. And while you’re visiting us on the web, we welcome you to check out our NIH-funded GIM Fellowship Program which over the past three decades has prepared over 125 general internists for exciting careers in academic medicine.

back to top button