GIM Housestaff Research Awards

We offer several awards, each named for an internationally regarded mentor and researcher at Johns Hopkins with a faculty appointment in the Division of General Internal Medicine.

L. Randol Barker – David E. Kern Award

For achievement in medical education research

L. Randol Barker, MD, ScM, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. Dr. Barker's core interests are in how learning occurs in clinical medicine, and in the professionalism of the educator-learner relationship. In 2001, he was awarded SGIM’s Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education. David E. Kern, MD, MPH, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director/Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. He has been a leader in general internal medicine residency training, faculty and curriculum development, and communication skills training. He has received numerous awards, including awards for his mentorship, role as a division leader, and the 2003 SGIM Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education.

2023 Award Recipient

Arman Shahriar, MD

MD - University of Minnesota Medical School
Residency - University of Chicago

Abstract: Socioeconomic Diversity of the Matriculating US Medical Student Body by Race, Ethnicity, and Sex, 2017-2019

Lisa A. Cooper – David M. Levine Award

For achievement in behavioral medicine and health disparities research

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH, is the James F. Fries Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and holds joint appointments in the Bloomberg School of Public Health and School of Nursing. She is the Society of General Internal Medicine’s 2023 recipient of the John M. Eisenberg Award for Career Achievement in Research. She is the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Equity in Health and Healthcare and in 2020 was named director of the Johns Hopkins Urban Health Institute. Her pioneering research has sought to document and then address the needs of populations experiencing health disparities. David M. Levine, MD, MPH, ScD, is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Health Behavior & Society and former Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine. He was the founding PI for a multi-disciplinary NIH-funded training program (T32) which was continuously funded for over 40 years. In recognition of his unsurpassed reputation as a research mentor, the Department of Medicine at Hopkins has institutionalized his legacy with the annual “Levine Award” for outstanding faculty mentors. Dr. Levine is renowned for his research on health behaviors related to disparities in cardiovascular risk and disease.

2023 Award Recipient

Max Nguemeni Tiako, MD, MS

MD - Yale School of Medicine
Residency - Brigham & Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Abstract: Racial Disparities in Unmet Opioid Preference, Patient Satisfaction and Downstream Opioid Misuse Risk After E.D. Visit for Acute Kidney Stone or Back Pain: Secondary Analysis of a National, Multisite RCT

Daniel E. Ford - Jodi B. Segal Award

For achievement in health services and outcomes research

Daniel E. Ford, MD, MPH, is Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Health Policy & Management; former Director of the Johns Hopkins Preventive Medicine Residency and the University Health Service; and served as Vice Dean for Clinical Research from 2005-2021. His is the Principal Investigator of the institution’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) which supports the Clinical Research Units at Johns Hopkins. He is also a national leader for his own research on the treatment of depression in primary care. Jodi B. Segal, MD, MPH, is Professor of Medicine, Health Policy & Management, and Epidemiology. She has been a national leader in comparative effectiveness research and developed the first course offered in the U.S. in the field. Her research interests include pharmacoepidemiology and health care overutilization. At Hopkins, she is an Associate Director of the Center for Health Services and Outcomes Research and co-directs the Center for Drug Safety and Effectiveness. She is a fellow of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology and the American College of Physicians; and serves as a deputy editor of Annals of Internal Medicine.

2023 Award Recipient

Audrey Zhang, MD

MD - NYU School of Medicine
Residency - Duke University Health System

Abstract: Factors in Non-Approval of New Drug Indications Reviewed by FDA Advisory Committees, 2008-2022

Jeremy Sugarman Award

For achievement in bioethics research

Jeremy Sugarman, MD, MPH, MA is the Harvey M. Meyerhoff Professor of Bioethics and Medicine, and a Professor of Medicine and Health Policy Management, and Deputy Director for Medicine in the Berman Institute of Bioethics at the Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Sugarman is Chair of the Ethics Working Group of the HIV Prevention Trials Network, Co-Lead of the Ethics and Regulatory Core of the NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory and Co-Chair of the Johns Hopkins Institutional Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee. Dr. Sugarman conducts both theoretical and empirical research in bioethics. He is renowned for his work on informed consent, research ethics and the ethical issues associated with emerging technologies.

2023 Award Recipient

John Messinger, MD

MD - Harvard Medical School
Residency - University of California at San Francisco

Abstract: Outcomes for Patients Discharged to Involuntary Commitment for Substance Use Disorder Directly from the Hospital

If you are a house officer who has conducted research in any of these GIM-related areas and you are on track for a career in academic general internal medicine, we invite you to compete. And while you’re visiting us on the web, we welcome you to check out our NIH-funded GIM Fellowship Program which over the past three decades has prepared over 125 general internists for exciting careers in academic medicine.