In This Section      

GIM Housestaff Research Awards


Now accepting 2020 Housestaff Research Awards applications!

Application Deadline: Monday, September 14, 2020
Winners Announced: Wednesday, September 30, 2020


Award Requirements  |  Submit Application  |  Recommendation Form  |  Previous Award Winners

We offer seven Awards, each named for an internationally regarded mentor and researcher at Johns Hopkins with a faculty appointment in the Division of General Internal Medicine.

Barker-Kern Award

For achievement in medical education

L. Randol Barker, MD, ScM, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. Dr. Barker's core interests are in how learning occurs in clinical medicine, and in the professionalism of the educator-learner relationship. In 2001, he was awarded SGIM’s Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education. David E. Kern, MD, MPH, MACP is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and former Co-Director/Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. He has been a leader in general internal medicine residency training, faculty and curriculum development, and communication skills training. He has received numerous awards, including awards for his mentorship, role as a division leader, and the 2003 SGIM Award for Career Achievement in Medical Education.

2019 Winner: Dana Callahan, MD

Diane Becker Award

For achievement in clinical epidemiology and prevention

Diane Becker, RN, MPH, ScD is a Professor Emerita of Medicine and Health Policy and Management, and Founding Director of the Center for Health Promotion in the Division of General Internal Medicine. She is the Founding Director of both the Johns Hopkins Sibling and Family Heart Study and the GeneSTAR Research Program. She was the recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award from the Johns Hopkins University and the 2004 Katherine A. Lembright Research Award from the American Heart Association. Dr. Becker is renowned for her research on the epidemiology and genetic underpinnings of premature heart disease and related conditions.

Dunbar-Hill-Briggs Award

For achievement in population health and health system transformation

Linda Dunbar, RN, PhD is Vice President of Population Health for Johns Hopkins HealthCare, and previously directed the divisions of Population Health Management, Behavioral Health, and Research and Development. Since 1997, Dr. Dunbar has led Johns Hopkins HealthCare to create, deliver and evaluate innovative population health management strategies in the areas of single and multiple chronic diseases, behavioral conditions and substance use disorder. Dr. Dunbar frequently teaches and lectures at Bloomberg School of Public Health and School of Nursing and Medicine on such topics as managed care, population health strategies, health policy and reform, risk adjustment, and research and evaluation. Felicia Hill-Briggs, PhD is Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, with joint appointments in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; the Bloomberg School of Public Health and the School of Nursing. She is also Sr. Director of Population Health Research and Development for Johns Hopkins HealthCare.  She served as the 2018 President of the American Diabetes Association, Health Care and Education.  A clinical psychologist and behavioral scientist, she is a national expert in behavior change and self-management of diabetes and cardiovascular comorbidities. 

2019 Winner: Katherine Chebly, MD, MPA

Daniel Ford Award

For achievement in health services and outcomes research

Daniel E. Ford, MD, MPH is Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Health Policy & Management; former Director of the Johns Hopkins Preventive Medicine Residency and the University Health Service; and currently Vice Dean for Clinical Research.  His is the Principal Investigator of the institution’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) which supports the Clinical Research Units at Johns Hopkins. He is also a national leader for his own research on the treatment of depression in primary care.

2019 Winner: Aaron Schwartz, MD, PhD

Cooper-Levine Award

For achievement in behavioral medicine and health disparities

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH is the James F. Fries Professor of Medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and holds joint appointments in the Bloomberg School of Public Health.  She is the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Equity in Health and Healthcare and in 2020 was named director of the Johns Hopkins Urban Health Institute. Her pioneering research has sought to document and then address the needs of populations experiencing health disparities. David M. Levine, MD, MPH, ScD is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Health Behavior & Society and former Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine. He was the founding PI for multi-disciplinary NIH-funded training program (T32) which was continuously funded for over 40 years In recognition of his unsurpassed reputation as a research mentor, the Department of Medicine at Hopkins has institutionalized his legacy with annual “Levine Award” for outstanding faculty mentors. Dr. Levine is renowned for his research on health behaviors related to disparities in cardiovascular risk and disease.

2019 Winner: Amrapali Maitra, MD, PhD

Richard Moore Award

For achievement in clinical care and research in HIV

Richard D. Moore, MD is a Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology who has conducted HIV-associated epidemiologic and clinical outcomes research publishing extensively on HIV/AIDS natural history, treatment and outcomes. He is the Director of the Johns Hopkins Program for HIV Outcomes Research. He is also the principal investigator of the Johns Hopkins HIV Clinical Cohort, begun in 1989, the North American AIDS Cohort Collaboration on Research and Design, a multisite HIV cohort that combines 21 single-site and multi-site cohorts representing over 100 HIV care and research sites across the U.S. and Canada, and of the HIV Research Network , a consortium of 18 HIV care sites through-out the U.S. and funded by AHRQ and HRSA to conduct research in health resources utilization.

2019 Winner: Harita Shah, MD

Jeremy Sugarman Award

For achievement in bioethics

Jeremy Sugarman, MD, MPH, MA is the Harvey M. Meyerhoff Professor of Bioethics and Medicine; Professor of Medicine; Professor of Health Policy and Management; and Deputy Director for Medicine of the Berman Institute of Bioethics at the Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Sugarman is Chair of the Ethics Working Group of the HIV Prevention Trials Network, Co-Lead of the Ethics and Regulatory Core of the NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory and Co-Chair of the Johns Hopkins Institutional Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee. Dr. Sugarman conducts both theoretical and empirical research in bioethics. He is renowned for his work on informed consent, research ethics and the ethical issues associated with emerging technologies.

Each award carries a cash prize and an invitation to attend a celebratory dinner and to present their winning abstract to the faculty of Hopkins GIM. Due to the pandemic, the celebratory dinner and presentations will be held virtually this year. Awardees are required to attend both events. Call-in information will be provided to winners as the date approaches.

If you are a house officer who has conducted research in any of these GIM-related areas and you are on track for a career in academic general internal medicine, we invite you to compete. And while you’re visiting us on the web, we welcome you to check out our NIH-funded GIM Fellowship Program which over the past three decades has prepared over 125 general internists for exciting careers in academic medicine.