Program Faculty

Drs. Thomas Johnson and Harry Quigley accept the Epstein AwardDrs. Harry Quigley (left center) and Thomas Johnson (right center) accept the Dr. David L. Epstein Award at the ARVO annual meeting.

The Wilmer Eye Institute's ophthalmology residency program provides trainees with access to some of the most innovative and accomplished ophthalmologists in the world.

Wilmer faculty members are committed to the continued development of research related to medical education and learner development.

Recent Publications on Medical Education

Meet the Residency Faculty

Peter J. McDonnell, M.D.

Wilmer Eye Institute Director

Peter McDonnell

Divya Srikumaran, M.D.

Vice Chair of Education

Divya Srikumaran

Fasika Woreta, M.D., M.P.H.

Residency Program Director

faskia woreta

Amanda Henderson, M.D.


Amanda Henderson

Michael Sulewski, Jr., M.D.

Associate Program Director

Michael Sulewski

Nicholas Mahoney, M.D.


Nicholas Mahoney

Jasdeep Sabharwal, M.D., Ph.D.

Co-Assistant Chief of Service

Dr. Jasdeep Sabharwal

Jacob Light, M.D.

Co-Assistant Chief of Service

Dr. Jacob Light

Wilmer Division Chiefs

Ashley Behrens, M.D.

Comprehensive Eye Care

Ashley Behrens

Judith Goldstein, O.D.

Vision Rehabilitation

Judith Goldstein

Amanda Henderson, M.D.


Amanda Henderson

Nicholas Mahoney, M.D.


Nicholas Mahoney

Michael Repka, M.D.

Pediatric Ophthalmology

Michael Repka

Everardo Hernandez-Quintela, M.D., M.Sc.

Patient Access Center for the Eye

Everardo Hernandez-Quintela

Program Administrator

Irene L. Catterson

Residency Program Administrator

Irene Lao

Division Education Champions

Each division at Wilmer has dedicated a faculty member to resident education in their subspeciality. This faculty member directs the educational experiences of the residents on that rotation as well as the didactic sessions and relevant surgical practice labs.

Microsurgical Training
Shameema Sikder, M.D.

Amanda Henderson, M.D.

Ophthalmic Optics
David Guyton, M.D.
Edward Kuwera, M.D.

Nick Mahoney, M.D.

Pediatric Oph. & Adult Strabismus
Courtney Kraus, M.D.

Refrative Surgery
Kraig Scot Bower, M.D.