Skip Navigation

Who/What: April 2016

Who/What: April 2016

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor

Rexford Ahima, M.D., Ph.D., an internationally renowned endocrinologist, has been appointed the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Diabetes; director of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism; and leader of the Diabetes Initiative in the school of medicine. Previously a professor of medicine at the University of Pennsylvania; director of the obesity unit in its Institute for Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism; and director of the Penn Diabetes Research Center’s Mouse Phenotyping, Physiology and Metabolism Core, Ahima will continue his research in a new laboratory on the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center campus.

Women in Medicine

The Johns Hopkins Hospital has received the American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) 2016 Heller Outstanding Branch Award, the organization’s highest national honor, for work that the hospital’s AMWA branch has undertaken within the community and the school of medicine to foster the association’s mission to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health.


A photo shows Namandje Bumpus.

Namandje Bumpus, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmacology and molecular sciences, is among 105 young scientists to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. The award, announced by President Obama, is the U.S. government’s highest honor for researchers in the early stages of their independent research careers. Bumpus studies drug metabolism, the process by which proteins that are primarily present in the liver biochemically modify a medication that a person is taking—determining both the duration and intensity of the drug’s effects on the individual.

A photo shows J. Raymond DePaulo.

J. Raymond DePaulo, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, has been elected chair of the National Network of Depression Centers. The network currently includes 21 top academic medical centers.  


A photo shows Hal Dietz.

Harry “Hal” Dietz, M.D., professor of medicine and genetics, director of the William S. Smilow Center for Marfan Syndrome Research, and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, has received the American Heart Association’s 2015 Research Achievement Award for his lifesaving discoveries related to the cause and treatment of aortic aneurysm.

A photo shows Jennifer Fairman.

Jennifer Fairman, M.A., assistant professor of art as applied to medicine, has won the Popular Science magazine/National Science Foundation’s 2016 People’s Choice Visualization Challenge Award for her illustration of the work of Jie Xiao, Ph.D., associate professor of biophysics and biophysical chemistry, and her laboratory colleagues on the arrangement of proteins at the site where E. coli bacterium divides. The illustration that won the award is entitled “The FtsZ ring: a multilayered protein network.”

A photo shows Barbara Fivush.

Barbara Fivush, M.D., associate dean of women in science and medicine and a professor of pediatrics, has received the American Academy of Pediatrics’ 2016 Henry Barnett Award. This lifetime achievement accolade recognizes her decades of work in pediatric nephrology in improving the care of children with chronic kidney disease. 

Jordan Green, Ph.D., associate professor of biomedical engineering, ophthalmology, oncology, neurosurgery, and materials science and engineering, has received a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers from President Obama. Green’s Biomaterials and Drug Delivery Laboratory focuses on biomaterials, drug delivery, gene therapy, nanobiotechnology and cell engineering.

Geetha Jayaram, M.B.B.S, M.D., M.B.A., associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and co-director of the Short Stay Unit, has received the 2016 Kun-Po Soo Award from the Council on Minority Mental Health and Mental Health Disparities of the American Psychiatric Association. The award recognizes Jayaram’s significant contributions toward understanding the impact of Asian cultural heritage in areas relevant to psychiatry.

Susan Lehmann, M.D., associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and clinical director of the Division of Geriatric Psychiatry and Neuropsychiatry, has been named the 2016 Educator of the Year by the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry.

Donna Magid, M.D., M.Ed., professor of radiology and radiological science, orthopaedic surgery, and functional anatomy and evolution, has received the Association of University Radiologists’ 2016 Nancy O. Whitely Award for her research related to radiology education. Magid, director of undergraduate medical student education in radiology, the school of medicine’s radiology elective and its horizontal strand in diagnostic imaging, also received the Whitely Award in 2007. 

Guy McKhann, M.D., founding director of the Department of Neurology and first head of the Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute, has received the Dean’s Distinguished Mentoring Award. The honor recognizes McKhann’s influential mentoring of individuals who have gone on to establish independent, distinguished careers in academic medicine.

Modupe Savage, M.S.N., M.B.A., N.E.A.-B.C., R.N., has been named assistant director of nursing for the Office of Workforce Planning and Nurse Recruitment. A 15-year Johns Hopkins Hospital veteran, she previously served as nurse manager on the Hospitalist-Halsted 2/Osler 2 unit.


Anita Everett, M.D., associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and director of community and general psychiatry, has been elected president of the American Psychiatric Association, the world’s largest psychiatric organization.

A photo shows Constantine Lyketsos.

Constantine “Kostas” Lyketsos, M.D., M.P.H., professor and director of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, has received the American Psychiatric Association’s 2016 Jack Weinberg Memorial Award in Geriatric Psychiatry in honor of his leadership and outstanding work in clinical practice, training and research into geriatric psychiatry.

Maxine Robinson, D.Min., B.C.C., has received her certification as a chaplain with the Association for Professional Chaplains. 


A photo shows Douglas Myers.

Douglas Myers, M.B.A., C.P.A., has been named vice president and chief financial officer. For the past five years, Myers served as chief financial officer and executive vice president of Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, D.C. He has more than two decades of experience as a chief financial officer at health care institutions, including service as chief operating officer at Children’s Hospital and Research Center in Oakland, California, and Texas Health Resources in Dallas.

A photo shows Prabhu Parimi.

Prabhu Parimi, M.D., has been named director of the Johns Hopkins All Children’s Maternal, Fetal & Neonatal Institute and chief of the Division of Neonatology at ACH. He will lead the integration of the neonatal program’s clinical care with research initiatives and education of pediatric residents and future fellows. Parimi previously served as director of the division of neonatology, medical director of the neonatal intensive care unit and neonatal medical home, and professor of pediatrics at the University of Kansas Medical Center and was the KU site principal investigator for the NICHD Neonatal Research Network.

back to top button