Skip Navigation


NCCU at 40 Symposium

Please join us for the NCCU at 40 Symposium being held in conjunction with the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine’s reunion and alumni weekend. Come and celebrate 40 years of The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s Neurosciences Critical Care Unit.

Three NCCU team members cutting a ribbon at the opening event Cutting the ribbon at the launch of the new Neurosciences Critical Care Unit. Shirley Sohmer, Director of Neuro Nursing, anesthesiologist Cecil Borel, and Judith “Ski” Lower, NCCU Nurse Manager.


The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Chevy Chase Bank Auditorium
1800 Orleans Street
Baltimore, MD 21287


Saturday June 3, 2023 | 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

How to Attend:

To RSVP, please email Email Rachel Ermer at [email protected]


Symposium Learning Objectives:

  1. Review the origins and current status of the field of neurocritical care, and provide projections for the future.
  2. Describe how advances in big data analytics and on-demand pharmacotherapy will change the nursing and medical care provided to patients in the NCCU of the future.
  3. Summarize the most likely technological and translational breakthroughs that will upend the current paradigm of NCCU treatments in the US, and provide some workable solutions for non-US environments.

Program Agenda

NCCU at 40 Symposium Agenda
8 – 8:30 a.m.Registration and Continental Breakfast 
8:30 – 8:45 a.m.Welcoming remarksHenry Brem, M.D. (Director of Neurosurgery), Justin McArthur, M.B.B.S., M.P.H (Director of Neurology), Danny Muehlschlegel (new Director of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine), The Johns Hopkins University
8:45 – 9:30 a.m.Reflections on the Origin of our NCCUJose I. Suarez, M.D. (moderator): Donlin M. Long, M.D., Hamilton Moses III, M.D., Daniel Hanley, M.D., Cecil Borel, M.D. (Duke University), Gail Biba, MSN, RN, CNRN (The Johns Hopkins Hospital)
9:30 – 10 a.m.Neurocritical Care JeopardyWendy Ziai, M.D., M.P.H. (Director of Neurocritical Care Fellowship Program, Departments of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, The Johns Hopkins University)
10 – 10:15 a.m.Break/Snacks 
10:15 – 10:45 a.m.The Future of Neurocritical CareDaniel Hanley, M.D. (Director, Brain Injury Outcomes, Professor of Neurology, The Johns Hopkins University) and Hamilton Moses III, M.D. (Chairman, The Alerion Institute; formerly lead Partner, Science & Technology, The Boston Consulting Group; Chief of Psychiatry, The Massachusetts General Brigham Health System; Vice President of Medical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer, The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins Health System and JHHS; Vice Chairman Neurology and Neurosurgery).
10:45 – 11:15 a.m.Big Data Analytics and Neurocritical Care in 2062Robert Stevens, M.D. (Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, The Johns Hopkins University)
11:15 – 11:45 a.m.Neurocritical Care Nursing in 2062Betsy Zink, Ph.D., R.N. (Clinical Nurse Specialist, NCCU, The Johns Hopkins Hospital)
11:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.Discussion 
12:15 – 1:30 p.m.Lunch break – Tour of the NCCU (optional) 
1:30 – 2 p.m.On-Demand Pharmacotherapy in Neurocritical Care in 2062John J Lewin III, PharM.D., M.B.A. (Chief Medical Officer, On Demand Pharmaceuticals, Rockville, M.D.)
2 – 2:30 p.m.Technological Advances and Personalized Neuropalliative Care in 2062Lourdes Carhuapoma, M.S.N., A.C.N.P. (NCCU, The Johns Hopkins Hospital)
2:30 – 3 p.m.Translational Research that Will Transform Neurocritical CareSujatha Kannan, M.B.B.S. (Vice Chair of Research, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, The Johns Hopkins University)
3 – 3:30 p.m.Break/Snacks 
3:30 – 4 p.m.The International Footprint of Neurocritical Care: Quo Vadis?Gene Sung, M.D., M.P.H. (University of Southern California, President of the World Federation of Critical Care Societies)
4 – 4:30 p.m.Is the future of Neurocritical Care determined?Issam Awad, M.D. (John Harper Seeley Professor of Neurological Surgery, University of Chicago)
4:30 – 5 p.m.Discussion and Closing Remarks 
7 – 10 p.m.Dinner at Hotel Monaco, Baltimore 
8 – 8:30 p.m.What are we celebrating?Geoff Ling, M.D., Ph.D. (Departments of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, The Johns Hopkins University)

Organizing Committee

  • Jose I. Suarez, M.D., Chair | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Betsy Zink, Ph.D., R.N., Co-Chair | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Yama Akbari, M.D., Ph.D. | University of California Irvine
  • Cecil Borel, M.D. | Duke University
  • Kyra Becker, M.D. | University of Washington
  • Gail Biba, MSN, RN, CNRN | The Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Karissa Dushel | The Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Rachel Ermer | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Aaron Gusdon, M.D. | McGovern Medical School at UT Health Houston
  • Bruce Kranig | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Hamilton Moses III, M.D. | The Alerion Institute
  • Daniel Hanley, M.D. | The Johns Hopkins University
  • H.E. Hinson, M.D. | University of California San Francisco
  • Donlin Long, M.D. | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Marek Mirski, M.D., Ph.D. | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Christa O'Hana S. Nobleza, M.D., MSCI | University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center
  • Gene Sung, M.D. | University of Southern California
  • Angel Terol | The Johns Hopkins University
  • John A. Ulatowski, M.D., Ph.D. | The Johns Hopkins University
  • Panayiotis Varelas, M.D., Ph.D. | Albany Medical College
  • Wendy C. Ziai, M.D., MPH | The Johns Hopkins University
back to top button