Sibley Memorial Hospital Awards and Recognition

The Joint Commission and Other Accreditations

gold joint commission seal

Sibley Memorial Hospital is fully accredited by The Joint Commission and is licensed by the District of Columbia Department of Health.

icon of a shield with a star

Patient Safety and Quality Ratings

Sibley Memorial Hospital staff and physicians follow The Joint Commission National Patient Safety Goals as our framework for quality and safety. See how our hospital ranks in patient experience, home care quality, readmisions, infection prevention and other metrics as evaluated by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services based on patient surveys.

See our ratings

icon of a hospital building

Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades

The Leapfrog Group evaluates hospital performance in preventing medical errors, infections and other harm among patients in their care.

Learn more about our safety grade

icon of a clipboard

DAISY Award and Other Nursing Awards

The DAISY Award is an internationally acknowledged recognition program to celebrate registered nurses that have exemplified extraordinary and compassionate patient care. A DAISY Award is given to a deserving nurse each quarter, based on criteria established to meet Sibley’s mission and values.

Meet award-winning nurses at Sibley

icon of heart with cross

American Heart Association/American Stroke Association Awards

Sibley Memorial Hospital is home to a Primary Stroke Center as certified by The Joint Commission.

Each year, the American Heart Association recognizes hospitals that demonstrate a high commitment to following guidelines that improve patient outcomes.

Sibley Memorial Hospital Designations

  • Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award 
  • Target: Stroke Honor Roll
  • Target: Type 2 Diabetes Honor Roll

Learn more about Get With The Guidelines®

icon of desktop monitor

CHIME's Healthcare's Most Wired Designation

The College of Healthcare Information Management Executives (CHIME) conducts an annual survey to award the Most Wired designation to health care organizations that exemplify best practices through adoption, implementation and use of information technology to elevate the health and care of communities they serve.

Sibley Memorial Hospital is designated as Level 9. Organizations at this level are often leaders in health care technology that actively push the industry forward.

View the Most Wired survey results

icon of a hospital building

Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEED)

The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) has awarded Sibley Memorial Hospital’s Building B its LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) Gold designation. LEED is the USGBC’s rating system for the design and construction of energy-efficient and high-performing buildings. The hospital engages in several environmentally friendly initiatives, including rain gardens, employee gardens and a gabion retaining wall. 

Learn more about the LEED rating system


Other Awards