Skip Navigation

About Us

The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Johns Hopkins Medicine has occupied a distinguished place in the field of psychiatry since the opening of the Henry Phipps Psychiatric Clinic in 1913. Today, we continue our long tradition of excellence in patient care, teaching and research.

Founded with a dual mission to serve the surrounding community and to care for patients with the most challenging illnesses, we provide community psychiatric services as well as consultation clinics, inpatient units, and day hospitals in more than a dozen specialty areas.

Our clinical research programs, which are closely tied to patient care, range from efficacy and treatment-response studies to clinical trials and epidemiology. The basic research we conduct encompasses bioinformatics, genetics, neuroscience, and molecular biology. All of these efforts strive to unlock the causal pathways to the major psychiatric conditions and to use this knowledge to develop practical means to improve recognition, diagnosis, and treatment of these conditions.

The depth of our clinical expertise and the breadth of our research programs allow us to train medical students and to produce the next generation of psychiatrists and scientists to be clinical and research leaders.

Learn about what we believe


  • We are ranked among the very top psychiatry programs in the United States for clinical care according to U.S. News and World Report.
  • Our department treats a higher percentage of medically compromised psychiatric patients than any other hospital in Maryland.
  • Our expert team is devoted to the treatment of the chronically mentally ill, the indigent, and the most complex psychiatric cases requiring multidisciplinary treatments.
  • The department also consistently ranks nationally among the top departments in psychiatric research funded by the National Institutes of Health.

Summary Statistics

Johns Hopkins
Inpatient Beds10820128
      Adult and Young Adult8820 
Fiscal Year 2017   
Inpatient Admissions2,5736963,269
Outpatient Visits*31,091101,792132,883
Outpatient Substance Abuse Treatment Visits26,85983,885110,744

* Does not include methadone visits

back to top button