Merkin Center Research Grant Recipients

The Merkin Peripheral Neuropathy and Nerve Regeneration Center is proud to announce its latest grants, awarded to nine researchers. Learn more about the recipients and their work below:

Ashley Kalinski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Ball State University

Topic: Elucidating the cell-autonomy of SARM1 for injury induced axon regeneration, nerve inflammation, and Schwann cell reprogramming

Atul Rawat, Ph.D.

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: Modulating macrophage phenotype in peripheral nerve injury to accelerate nerve regeneration and functional recovery

Baohan Pan, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: Cutaneous Sensory Innervation in Human and Mouse and Its Implications in Neuropathic Pain

Christopher Cashman, Ph.D.

Fellow, Mass General Brigham 

Topic: Mitochondrial genome mutations and respiratory dysregulation as effectors of diabetic neuropathy

Hyun Sung, Ph.D.

Neurobiologist, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: Deciphering the role of autophagy in the pathogenesis of peripheral neuropathy

Masnsen Cherief, Ph.D.

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: Preventing diabetic bone disease using a neuroprotective agent

Pabitra Sahoo, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, University of South Carolina

Topic: Establishing the kinetics for failure of axonal protein synthesis in chronic nerve injury

Qin Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.

Instructor, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: In-vivo characterization of chemotherapy-induced neuropathy using large scale calcium imaging

Simone Thomas, M.S.

Research Associate, Johns Hopkins University

Topic: Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy (CIPN) Assessment

2021 Awardees

  • Sarah Berth, M.D., Ph.D.
    Topic: Genetic Screen for Axonal Degeneration Modifiers
  • Aysel Fisgin, Ph.D.
    Topic: MAP4K4 Inhibition to Prevent CIPN
  • Sang-Min Jeon, Ph.D.
    Topic: Sprouting Mediated Skin Reinnervation
  • Ying Liu, M.D., Ph.D.
    Topic: Evaluating the effect of SARM1 deficiency on peripheral neuropathy in db/db mouse model of type 2 diabetes.
  • Brett McCray, M.D., Ph.D.
    Topic: TRVP4 in Nerve Injury
  • Kathryn Moss, Ph.D.
    Topic: Development of a CMT1A/CIPN Mouse Model
  • Bipasha Mukherjee-Clavin, M.D., Ph.D.
    Topic: KIF16B-CMT2
  • Seong-Hyun Park, Ph.D.
    Topic: CMT PNSorganoid Model
  • Sami Tuffaha, M.D.
    Topic: Gene Expression Changes with Schwann Cell Denervation
  • Eric Villalón Landeros, Ph.D.
    Topic: DRG Neuroproteasome Signaling Peptides