Task Force on Women's Academic Careers in Medicine

Annual Sponsorship Award

This award recognizes a Department of Medicine Faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting and advancing women faculty and fellows by acting as a sponsor. Sponsorship Awards are presented at the Task Force Annual Dinner.

sponsor is a person in a leadership position who actively supports the career advancement of a more junior faculty member or trainee in whom they see career and leadership potential. Sponsorship activities may include but are not limited to the following: nominating women for (i) awards, (ii) scholarships, (iii) editorial boards, (iv) meeting/session chairs, (v) high profile institutional and national committees. A sponsor may also play a key role in coaching women for leadership roles. A mentor may act as a sponsor, although not all mentors are in a position to serve as a sponsor. Recent evidence suggests that sponsorship is important for career success, and may be critical to advancing the careers of women and under-represented minorities as well as addressing disparities in leadership positions.

Annual Sponsorship Awardees

Mark E. Anderson, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Department of Medicine
William Osler Professor of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, Genetic Medicine, and Physiology

Mark Anderson

Roger S. Blumenthal, MD

Kenneth Jay Pollin Professor of Cardiology
Director of Johns Hopkins Ciccarone Center for the Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease

Roger Blumenthal

Sara E. Cosgrove, MD

Director, Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Professor of Medicine

Sara Cosgrove

Daniel E. Ford, MD, MPH

Director, Johns Hopkins Institute for Clinical and Translational Research
Professor of Medicine

Daniel Ford

Rachel B. Levine, MD, MPH

Associate Dean for Faculty Educational Development
Professor of Medicine

Rachel Levine

Josef Coresh, MD, PhD

Director, Cardiovascular Epidemiology Training Program
Director, George W. Comstock Center for Public Health Research and Prevention
Joint Appointment in Medicine

Josef Coresh

Nadia Hansel, MD, MPH

Associate Dean of Research, Johns Hopkins Bayview
Division Director, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Professor of Medicine

Dr. Nadia Hansel

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Health and Healthcare Equity
Professor of Medicine

Lisa Cooper

Robert A. Wise, MD

Medical Director, Pulmonary Function Laboratory, Asthma & Allergy Center
Professor of Medicine

Robert Wise

Sonye Danoff, MD, PhD

Co-Director, Johns Hopkins Interstitial Lung Disease/Pulmonary Fibrosis Program
Associate Professor of Medicine

Sonye Danoff

David Levine, MD

Director, Office of Postdoctoral Fellowship Programs, Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine

David Levine

Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH

Director, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research
C. David Molina, MD, MPH Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and International Health

Lawrence Appel

Trish Perl, MD, MSc

Jay P. Sanford Professor of Medicine
Chief of Infectious Diseases, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and Medical Center

Trish Perl

Jeanne Clark, MD, MPH

Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Professor of Medicine

Jeanne Clark

Roy Ziegelstein, MD, MPH

Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr. Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Education, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Mary Wallace Stanton Professor of Education
Professor of Medicine

Roy Ziegelstein

Annual Sponsorship Award Dinner

The TF sponsors an annual dinner to highlight and celebrate the accomplishments of women in academic medicine and provide an opportunity for women faculty to build relationships with other women in the DOM. Past speakers have included many accomplished women from the DOM and beyond.

Past Speakers

Janet Bickel, MA

Leadership and Career Development Coach and Consultant

Janet Bickel

Amy S. Gottlieb, MD, FACP

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs at UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate
Chief Faculty Development Officer at Baystate Health
Professor of Medicine at UMass– Baystate

Amy Gottlieb, MD

Janine Austin Clayton, MD

NIH Associate Director of Research on Women's Health
Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health

Janine Clayton

Andrea L. Sikon, MD, FACP

Chair, Department of Internal Medicine & Geriatrics, Center for Specialized Women's Health
Director, Center for Excellence in Coaching and Mentoring
Associate Professor of Medicine, Cleveland Clinic

Andrea Sikon

Diana McNeill, MD, FACP

Director, Duke Academy of Health Professions Education & Academic Development
Professor of Medicine, Assistant Professor of OBGYN

Diana McNeill

Andrea Lynn Cox, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine and Oncology, Division of Infectious Diseases
Johns Hopkins University
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program

Andrea Cox

Sherita Hill Golden, MD, MHS

Hugh P. McCormick Family Professor of Endocrinology & Metabolism
Executive Vice-Chair, Department of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Sherita Golden

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil

Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology
Deputy Chair for Faculty and Financial Operations
University of Michigan Health System

Reshma Jagsi

Robin Ely, PhD

Diane Doerge Wilson Professor of Business Administration
Senior Associate Dean for Culture and Community
Harvard Business School

Robin Ely

Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH

Dean of the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University
Co-founder of Task Force on Women’s Academic Careers in Medicine, Johns Hopkins DOM

Linda Fried

Janet Bickel, MA

Leadership and Career Development Coach and Consultant

Janet Bickel

Leadership Development

In partnership with the DOM leadership, the TF nominates and supports women faculty to attend institutional and national leadership development programs, including the Emerging Women’s Leadership Program (EWLP) and the Leadership Program for Women Faculty (LPWF) through the Office of Women in Science and Medicine, as well as the AAMC women’s leadership programs.

Tracking Gender Equity

TF members attend Divisional Reviews to raise awareness of gender representation and to serve as a resource to divisional leaders in their efforts to enhance gender equity and to recruit and retain women faculty and trainees.

Data Collection

The TF tracks leadership roles in the DOM, monitors salary equity, promotions, awards, and the composition of key DOM committees.

Members at a task force event

Exit Interviews

The TF tracks attrition of faculty and conducts interviews with women faculty leaving the DOM.

Networking and Career Development Events

To bring DOM women together to discuss various topics including mentoring, work-life balance, career advancement, etc.

Events include:

  • CV review workshops
  • Mentorship and sponsorship sessions
  • Career and leadership panels
  • Work-life integration discussions
  • Job negotiation workshops