In This Section      


The first Division of Reproductive Endocrinology was established at The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions by Dr. Georgeanna Seegar Jones in 1939. Dr. Georgeanna Jones became the first full-time gynecological endocrinologist at a medical school. Dr. Howard W. Jones, Jr., one of the foremost pelvic surgeons of his generation, established an international reputation in reparative and reconstructive surgery of the female genital tract. Dr. Howard W. Jones, Jr.'s skill in surgery and Dr. Georgeanna Seegar Jones' expertise in endocrinology made them a highly respected, well-rounded team that worked closely with residents and fellows to provide an expanding knowledge of endocrinology before a formalized sub-specialty training program in this area was established by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

A formalized training program in Reproductive Endocrinology, approved by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was begun at Hopkins in 1973 and Dr. Anne Wentz was the first individual to receive this fellowship training. When Drs. Georgeanna and Howard Jones moved to Norfolk, Virginia to join the Eastern Virginia Medical School a Board-approved program in Reproductive Endocrinology was absent from Hopkins from 1978-80. In 1981 a new Board-approved program in Reproductive Endocrinology was begun at Hopkins under the Directorship of Dr. John Rock who remained in this position until he resigned in 1991 to become Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Union Memorial Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Howard A. Zacur served as the director of the fellowship program from 1991-2021. Dr. Chantel Cross, a graduate of the JHH REI Fellowship program, assumed the Directorship of the fellowship program in June of 2021. Since 1981, there have been more than 60 graduates of the Hopkins REI Fellowship Program, 18 of which have become division chiefs, 7 OB/GYN Department Chairs, 2 medical school deans, and 2 chancellors.