In This Section      

The F. J. Montz Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship Program

The Johns Hopkins F.J. Montz Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship is a three-year program with one to two fellowship positions available each year. Our goal is to train world-class abdominal-pelvic surgeons, clinicians who are well-versed in medical oncology, palliative and oncofertility care for women with gynecologic malignancies, and the future academic leaders of our field.

Our fellowship is in excellent standing, with accreditation received by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) in 2019. To learn more about this fellowship, please see the drop down list under the Gynecologic Oncology fellowship tab on the left-hand side of this page. Thank you for your interest in our program.

Inside the Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship Program

James Stuart Ferriss, director of the F.J. Montz Fellowship Program in Gynecologic Oncology, describes our fellowship, a three-year program with one to two fellowship positions per year. As one of the strongest #GynecologicOncology programs in the country, we offer our fellows the opportunity to become well-versed in the spectrum of gynecologic oncology care by working in the lab, at the bedside and within the operating room.

Application Information

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are adjusting our interview process to better accommodate our applicants.

Application Deadline

The application deadline has been extended to April 15, 2020. If you wish to apply to our fellowship program, please go to: Please include the following letters of recommendation with your application:

  • Chairman of your Department
  • Residency Director of your Department
  • Director of Gynecologic Oncology of your Department
  • A fourth letter of recommendation from an individual of your choice

Please note the letters must be submitted via ERAS (to be included with your application).

Once your application is submitted, please email one PDF document to include all your CREOG scores to


All interviews will be conducted via live video link. We anticipate having two separate interview sessions (AM and PM) on Friday, June 26, 2020. There will be no in person events planned. Additional information will be shared as we get closer to our interview day.

If you should have any questions, please feel free to contact Trisha Arbella, Education Program Manager.

Phone: 410-955-6710

Program Leadership

James Stuart Ferriss, M.D.
Fellowship Program Director

Kimberly Levinson, M.D.
Associate Program Director

Trisha Arbella
Education Program Manager