March 2012

We have compiled a listing of prize opportunities. To view the complete list, please click here:

Upcoming Deadlines for March, April and May


Louis and Artur Lucian Award
This award honors outstanding research in the field of circulatory diseases by a scientific investigator or group of investigators whose contribution to knowledge in this field is deemed worthy of special recognition.
Amount of award: $50,000 (Canadian)
Deadline: 3/16/12

Alton Ochsner Award Relating Smoking and Health
Presented to one or more clinical and/or basic science investigators for outstanding and exemplary original scientific investigations that relate tobacco consumption and health. Contact for more information.
Amount of award: $15,000
Deadline: 3/31/12

Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science
Presented in a predetermined field of interest chosen each year by the Franklin Institute. The theme of the 2009 Bower Award for Achievement in Science is The Cosmos.
Amount of award: $250,000
Deadline: 3/31/12 (letter of intent); full application due 5/31/12

National Medal of Science;jsessionid=

The Nation's highest honor for scientists and engineers, this Presidential Award is given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences."
Deadline: 3/31/12

National Medal of Technology
The Medal is given annually to individuals, teams, and/or companies/divisions for their outstanding contributions to the Nation’s economic, environmental and social well-being through the development and commercialization of technology products, processes and concepts; technological innovation; and development of the Nation’s technological manpower.
Deadline: 3/31/12


Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Award for Humanitarian Contributions to the Health of Humankind
Awarded by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. Criteria are based on legislative or administrative contributions, humanitarian service; and or public education activities.
Amount of award: Steuben glass award
Deadline: 4/23/12

Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research
Recognizes significant contributions to the basic understanding and treatment of cancer by young investigators. This is the first major prize for most of the winners, who are no more than 45 years old. Awarded every two years; no award in 2008.
Amount of award: $150,000
Deadline: 4/30/12


Daniel Mendelsohn New Investigator Award
Intended to encourage new investigators whose work is compatible with the mission "to promote health and well being through research, grants administration, education and treatment." This award is given every two years; nominations are accepted May 1 of even-numbered years.
Amount of award: $5,000
Deadline: 5/1/12

J. Allyn Taylor International Prize
Category changes yearly. Awarded by the Robarts Research Institute, the 2011 Taylor Prize will be granted to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of Stem Cells.
Amount of award: $10,000
Deadline: 5/1/12

King Faisal International Prize for Medicine
Category changes yearly. The category for 2013 is "The Genetics of Obesity" and nominees should be widely recognized for contributions to the topic area.
Amount of award: $200,000
Deadline: 5/1/12

Herbert W. Nickens, M.D. Award
Given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and health care.
Amount of award: $10,000
Deadline: 5/4/12

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award
Recognizes a medical school faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.
Amount of award: $5,000
Deadline: 5/4/12

Abraham Flexner Award
Awards extraordinary contributions to the medical education community
Amount of award: $10,000
Deadline: 5/4/12

The Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences
Honors outstanding biomedical research related to health and disease.
Amount of award: $5,000
Deadline: 5/4/12

The David E. Rogers Award
Granted annually to a member of a medical school faculty who has made major contributions to improving the health and health care of the American people
Amount of award: $10,000
Deadline: 5/4/12

Spencer Foreman Award for Outstanding Community Service
Presented annually to a member institution or organization with a longstanding, major institutional commitment to addressing community needs.
Deadline: 5/4/12

The Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teaching Awards
Recognize the significant contributions to medical education made by gifted teachers.
Amount of award: $10,000, $5,000 to institution
Deadline: 5/4/12

Return to top of Prize Opportunities

March 2012 articles:
IRB Newsletter
Visit Animal Care and Use Committee Website
Current Classes
Funding from Foundations/Private Sources
School of Medicine Clinician Scientist Award
Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities
Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities
Edward Mallinckrodt, Jr. Foundation Award Program

This Month's Departmental Listings

Upcoming Deadlines for March, April and May

Genetic Resources Core Symposium


JHM AppointmentsEmployment @ JHM | Finding a Doctor | Disclaimer | Maps & Directions | Contact JHM 


                                                                                                                                                           The Web Center