Johns Hopkins Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Medicine


(Clockwise from top left) Dorry Segev, Sharon Gerecht, Colleen Barry and Elizabeth Jaffee. Credit: Johns Hopkins
Four faculty members of The Johns Hopkins University have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Announcement of new NAM members (100 total) was made today in conjunction with the academy’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

NAM is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health, medicine and the natural, social and behavioral sciences. It serves alongside the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering as adviser for the nation and the international community. Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine and related policy. Membership in the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine.

New members are elected by current members through a selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.

The new members from Johns Hopkins are:

Colleen L. Barry, Ph.D., M.P.P., Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management, and co-director of the Center for Mental Health and Addiction Policy Research, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Sharon Gerecht, Ph.D., professor and Kent Gordon Croft Investment Management Faculty Scholar in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and director of Institute for NanoBioTechnology, The Johns Hopkins University.

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, M.D., Dana and Albert "Cubby" Broccoli Professor of Oncology, and deputy director, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, The Johns Hopkins University.

Dorry L. Segev, M.D., Ph.D., Marjory K. and Thomas Pozefsky Professor of Surgery and Epidemiology, and associate vice chair of the Department of Surgery, The Johns Hopkins University.