Who/What: July/August 2015

Published in Dome - July/August 2015

Lifetime Achievement Award

Ronald R. Peterson, president of The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System and executive vice president of Johns Hopkins Medicine, has received the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award from Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Greater Chesapeake in recognition of his personal and organizational commitment to multiple youth mentoring programs in Maryland. Peterson spent 14 years on the board of directors of the Maryland Mentoring Partnership, which merged with Big Brothers Big Sisters, and serves on the board of another Baltimore-based mentoring nonprofit, the Living Classrooms Foundation. He also has been closely involved with Johns Hopkins Medicine's participation in the Bond-to-Bond youth mentoring and career development program, the Adopt-A-Class program, the Johns Hopkins Summer Jobs Program and the Dunbar High School Health Partnership.

New Senior VP and CFO

Ronald Werthman

Ronald Werthman has become senior vice president and chief financial officer for Johns Hopkins Medicine and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. A 22-year veteran of finance and strategic planning for Johns Hopkins Medicine, Werthman succeeds Richard Grossi, who retired after 37 years with Johns Hopkins. Previously, Werthman was senior vice president of finance and the treasurer and chief financial officer for The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System. As co-leader of Johns Hopkins Medicine finance and of the Strategic Plan’s performance priority, Werthman spearheads efforts to reduce system costs while improving patient care.

Administrative Appointments

Ralph Hruban

Ralph Hruban, M.D., has been named the Baxley Professor in Pathology, director of the Department of Pathology, director of pathology for Johns Hopkins Medicine and pathologist-in-chief for The Johns Hopkins Hospital. A 1985 graduate of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and a faculty member for 25 years, Hruban has served as interim director of the department since February 2014.Hruban also directs the Sol Goldman Pancreatic Cancer Research Center and the Division of Gastrointestinal/Liver Pathology.

Thierry Huisman

Thierry Huisman, M.D., professor of radiology and radiological science, pediatrics, neurosurgery and neurology, has been appointed director of the Department of Imaging at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center. Formerly chairman and radiologist-in-chief of the Department of Diagnostic Imaging at the University Children’s Hospital in Zurich, Switzerland, he was recruited in 2007 to join the faculty at Johns Hopkins, where he is also medical director of the Division of Pediatric Radiology.

Kim Sherbrooke

Kim Sherbrooke, M.H.A., has become vice president and chief operating officer of the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians. She will oversee the ambulatory care operations at sites where Johns Hopkins-employed physicians practice. Her responsibilities also include overseeing the training, education and engagement for community physicians aligned with or employed by Johns Hopkins. She will collaborate with the Office of Managed Care Contracting and will be the primary lead for assessing and implementing telemedicine in ambulatory care and for Access Services. Previously, she was chief operating officer for Indiana University Health Physicians.

Leslie Tung

Leslie Tung, Ph.D., professor and director of the undergraduate program in biomedical engineering, has been named interim director of the department, succeeding Elliot McVeigh, Ph.D., who resigned as department director after serving eight years at its helm. Tung, a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a 19-year veteran of The Johns Hopkins University’s Department of Biomedical Engineering, oversees the largest undergraduate major at The Johns Hopkins University.

Becker's Best

The Johns Hopkins Health System has been named to Becker's Hospital Review 2015 list of 50 Great Health Systems to Know. It also named Richard Grossi, recently retired senior vice president and chief financial officer of Johns Hopkins Medicine, as among the 150 Hospital and Health System CFOs to Know.

Ebola Response Kudos

The Johns Hopkins Hospital has received the Maryland Hospital Association’s Distinguished Service Award for the creation of the Johns Hopkins Hospital Ebola Response Team. In recognizing the hospital’s initiative, the association cited the team’s bravery, dedication, compassion and readiness to provide care at a moment’s notice for potential patients with Ebola virus disease.

Greenhealth Recognition

The Johns Hopkins Hospital has received the Greenhealth Emerald Award and the Circle of Excellence Greening the OR Award from Practice Greenhealth, a nonprofit organization promoting sustainability in health care. Johns Hopkins was one of only 10 institutions in the country to receive the Greening the OR Award.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center has received the organization’s Partner Recognition Award in acknowledgment of the medical center’s implementation of early-phase, effective programs to promote environmental sustainability.

East Baltimore

Xinzhong Dong

Xinzhong Dong, Ph.D., professor of neuroscience and neurosurgery, has been named a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He is one of 26 newly tapped investigators and will receive a renewable five-year appointment that provides salary and benefits to foster the work of his research team, which studies the mechanisms behind sensation, including pain, itch and touch.

Jonathan Lewin

Jonathan Lewin, M.D., senior vice president of integrated health care delivery, co-chair for Johns Hopkins Medicine strategic planning, professor and director of the Department of Radiology and Radiological Science, and radiologist-in-chief for The Johns Hopkins Hospital, has been elected president of the American Roentgen Ray Society. 

Paul Nagy

Paul Nagy, Ph.D., associate professor of radiology and radiological science and director of the Johns Hopkins Medicine Technology Innovation Center, has been named one of eight Health Care Innovator honorees chosen by the Baltimore Business Journal out of more than 60 nominees. Nagy received recognition for health care education. He is program director for multidisciplinary clinical leadership programs in patient safety and quality, clinical analytics, and commercial ventures creation. 

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Maria Rowena Benitez, R.N., has been named by the Department of Nursing as its Nurse of the Year for 2015. A 10-year veteran of the medical center, Benitez is a nurse on the Wenz Orthopaedic Unit. Among other things, Benitez was credited for implementing hourly rounding on the unit to improve patient satisfaction and safety.