In This Section      
 

Department & Ancillary Reviews

September 2020 

The Director of a JHUSOM Department determines whether departmental review is required prior to submission of an application for IRB review and appoints an individual/committee to conduct such reviews.  In addition, several ancillary committee reviews may be required to assure compliance with institutional or regulatory requirements. The eIRB system has been configured to route an application directly to the required department or ancillary committee for review. For the purposes of review by the Conflict of Interest Committee, it is the responsibility of an investigator to make required disclosures of potential conflicts through the eOPC web-based disclosure system.

The chart below identifies the required pre and post department or ancillary reviews that must occur before a research study may begin. Those indicated as "Concurrent with IRB Review" must be approved prior to final JHM IRB approval.

All Children’s Hospital Research Review Committee Pre and/or Post Approval
Susan Ellie – sue.ellie@jhmi.edu

Baltimore City Health Department (BCHD)Post IRB Approval
Paul Overly - paul.overly@baltimorecity.gov

Biospecimens Transfer Committee (BTC) – Concurrent with IRB Review
Suzanne Damare - sdamare1@jhmi.edu

Cell Therapy - Notification Only
Janice Davis Sproul - davisja@jhmi.edu
M. Victor Lemas - mvlemas@jhmi.edu

Clinical EngineeringConcurrent with IRB Review
Roy Shipley - royshi@jhmi.edu
Andrew Currie - andcur@jhmi.edu
Charles Bacon - cbacon5@jhmi.edu

Clinical Radiation Research Committee (CRRC)Concurrent with IRB Review
Carl Granlund - cgranlun@jhmi.edu

Conflict of Interest Committee (COI) - Concurrent with IRB Review
Julie Gottlieb - jgottlie@jhmi.edu
Mel Dejere – mdejere@jhmi.edu

Data Trust – Concurrent with IRB Review
Valerie Smothers – vsmothers@jhmi.edu

Emergency Department Patients (ED)Concurrent with IRB Review
Richard Rothman - rrothma1@jhmi.edu
Lauren Sauer - lsauer2@jhmi.edu
Katherine Fenstermacher – kfenste1@jhmi.edu

Foster Children (Department of Human Resources Social Services Administration)Post IRB Approval
Maria Tillman - maria.tillman@maryland.gov
Amaza Reid - AReid2@dhr.state.md.us

FM Kirby CenterPre IRB review
Jim Pekar - jpekar1@jhmi.edu

Graduate Medical Education ReviewConcurrent with IRB Review
Jessica Bienstock - jbienst@jhmi.edu

High Risk Review Committee - BayviewConcurrent with IRB Review
Susan Longley – slongle2@jhmi.edu
Fred Luthardt - fluthar1@jhmi.edu

High Risk Review Committee - JHHConcurrent with IRB Review
Liz Martinez - emarti22@jhmi.edu
Todd Brown - tbrown27@jhmi.edu 

Howard County General Hospital Research Review Committee - Post IRB Approval
Mehro Akhtar - makhtar2@jhmi.edu
Jackie Lobien -  JLobien1@jhmi.edu

Imaging and Recording Oversight Committee (IROC)Post IRB Approval
Renee Cover – rcover1@jhmi.edu

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)Concurrent with IRB Review
Stephen Dahl - sdahl@jhu.edu

Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR) – Notification Only
Matthew Courtemanche - matthew@jhmi.edu
Shernice Madison - smadison@jhu.edu

JHHS Nursing - Pre IRB Review
Elizabeth Scala - escala1@jhmi.edu

JHHS Pharmacy - BroadwayPre IRB Review
Kenneth Shermock - ken@jhmi.edu

JHU Applied Physics LabPre IRB Review
Daniel Anna - mailto:dan.anna@jhuapl.edu

JHU Comparative MedicinePre IRB Review
Janice Clements - jclement@jhmi.edu

JHU Emergency Medicine - BroadwayPre IRB Review
Richard Rothman - rrothma1@jhmi.edu
Lauren Sauer - lsauer2@jhmi.edu

JHU Gynecology and ObstetricsPre IRB Review
Andrew Satin - asatin2@jhmi.edu
Karin Blakemore – kblakem@jhmi.edu

JHU History of Medicine  - Pre IRB Review
Randall Packard - rpackar2@mail.jhmi.edu
Jeremy Greene - jgree115@jhmi.edu 

JHU McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine (Genetic Medicine)Pre IRB Approval
David Valle - dvalle@jhmi.edu

JHU OphthalmologyPre IRB Review
Sharon Solomon - ssolomon1@jhmi.edu

JHU Pharmacology and Molecular SciencesPre IRB Approval
Philip Cole - pcole@jhmi.edu

JHU Physical Medicine and RehabilitationPre IRB Review
Pablo Celnik - pcelnik@jhmi.edu

JHU PhysiologyPre IRB Review
William Guggino - wguggino@jhmi.edu

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians Review (JHCP) - Post IRB Approval
Sarah Rubin - srubin19@jhmi.edu

Johns Hopkins Health Care (JHHC) - Notification Only
Sarah Kachur - rddr@jhhc.com
Nicola Martin - NMartin@jhhc.com
Melissa Sherry – msherry@jhhc.com

JHHS employees Concurrent with IRB Review
Inez Steward - istewar4@jhmi.edu

JHU employees and Institutional Data Concurrent with IRB Review
Jon Links - jlinks1@jhu.edu

KKI Review - Pre IRB Review
Elaine Stashinko- stashinko@kennedykrieger.org
Molly Timko – timko@kennedykrieger.org

Maternal Fetal Medicine Tissue Committee (MFMTC) - Concurrent with IRB Review
Jena Miller - jmill260@jhmi.edu

Medical AffairsConcurrent with IRB Review

MedStarNotification Only
Crystal Bland - crystal.s.bland@medstar.net

P&T (for JHM-IRB X only **)Concurrent with IRB Review
Craig Hendrix – chendrix@jhmi.edu

Pathology Department ReviewConcurrent with IRB Review
Serena Bagnasco -  sbagnas1@jhmi.edu

Prospective Reimbursement Analysis (PRA)Concurrent with IRB Review
Karen Roz - rozka@jhmi.edu
oraclinres@jhmi.edu

Sibley Memorial Hospital Research Review Committee
Oncology studies Pre and/or Post Review
Jackie Quivers - jquiver1@jhmi.edu
Non-oncology studies Pre and/or Post Review
Jackie Lobien - JLobien1@jhmi.edu

SKCCC CRO ReviewPre IRB Review
Janet Heussner- jheussn1@jhmi.edu
Deborah Epstein - epstede@jhmi.edu

Student Affairs - Concurrent with IRB Review
Sarah Clever - sclever@jhmi.edu

Suburban Hospital Research Review Committee - Pre and/or Post Review
Jackie Lobien - JLobien1@jhmi.edu