In This Section      

Paul Rothman and Arturo Casadevall Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences - 04/12/2017

Paul Rothman and Arturo Casadevall Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Release Date: April 12, 2017
Paul Rothman
Paul B. Rothman, M.D.
Credit: Johns Hopkins Medicine

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 228 new members, including Paul B. Rothman, M.D. and Arturo Casadevall, M.D., of The Johns Hopkins University. 

Rothman is a professor of medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He holds a secondary appointment in the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics. A rheumatologist and molecular immunologist, Rothman serves as the Frances Watt Baker, M.D., and Lenox D. Baker Jr., M.D., Dean of the Medical Faculty. He is also vice president for medicine at The Johns Hopkins University and chief executive officer of Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Rothman’s research focuses on the role of cytokines in the development of blood cells called leukocytes — the abnormal development of which can lead to leukemia — and in immune responses to asthma and allergies.

Casadevall is the Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair of the W. Harry Feinstone Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health.

In addition, Casadevall is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor. He is an infectious disease specialist and is internationally recognized for his work in biological systems. A major focus of Casadevall’s research laboratory is the fungus Cryptococcus neoformans, a ubiquitous environmental microbe and a frequent cause of disease in individuals with impaired immunity.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing and opportunities available to the nation and the world. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science, engineering and technology policy; global security and international affairs; the humanities, arts and education; and American institutions and the public good.

 “It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” says Don Randel, chair of the academy’s board of directors. “Their talents and expertise will enrich the life of the Academy and strengthen our capacity to spread knowledge and understanding in service to the nation.”

The new class of members will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 7, 2017, in Cambridge, Mass.