In This Section      

Johns Hopkins Medicine Holds Second Annual Awards Program to Recognize Clinical Excellence - 12/22/2016

Johns Hopkins Medicine Holds Second Annual Awards Program to Recognize Clinical Excellence

2016 winners announced across the health system
Release Date: December 22, 2016

Johns Hopkins Medicine hosted its second annual awards program, the Johns Hopkins Medicine Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams, honoring 42 physicians and care teams who embody the best in clinical excellence. The program was launched by the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians, and awards were open to providers who practice within Johns Hopkins Medicine, including Johns Hopkins Community Physicians locations.

“These awards are designed to celebrate those standout caregivers who consistently provide the highest level of care to our patients,” says Paul B. Rothman, M.D., dean of the medical faculty and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine. “This year’s recipients exemplify the term ‘master clinician,’ and we are deeply grateful for their efforts and their example.”

The recipients, who were nominated by their colleagues, were honored for their commitment to the mission of Johns Hopkins Medicine and their consistent dedication to providing excellent patient care.

Honorees were presented with a gold pin and a framed medal by Rothman; William Baumgartner, M.D., senior vice president of the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians; and Ronald R. Peterson, president of the Johns Hopkins Health System and executive vice president of Johns Hopkins Medicine, at a recent ceremony.

There are six award categories, with seven winners in each category. Winners for 2016 were selected in the following categories:

  • Physician of the Year
    Awarded to the physician who consistently achieves high standards in the practice of medicine and is looked upon as a role model by his or her peers.
  • Innovations in Clinical Care
    Awarded to the physician, nurse and/or team that demonstrates a visionary approach to problem-solving and performance improvement.
  • Clinical Collaboration and Teamwork
    Awarded to the team that engages colleagues in shared decision-making, fostering cooperation and open communication.

Visit our YouTube channel to view the accompanying video. For a full list of winners and to learn more about each winner and his or her award, visit Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams.