In This Section      

Johns Hopkins Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Medicine - 10/17/2016

Johns Hopkins Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Release Date: October 17, 2016
Paul B. Rothman, M.D.
Credit: Johns Hopkins Medicine

Share Fast Facts

Paul B. Rothman, M.D., and Jeffrey P. Kahn, Ph.D., M.P.H., of Johns Hopkins have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Rothman is the Frances Watt Baker, M.D., and Lenox D. Baker Jr., M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine, vice president for medicine at The Johns Hopkins University, and chief executive officer of Johns Hopkins Medicine. Kahn is the Andreas C. Dracopoulos Director for Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics and the Robert Henry Levi and Ryda Hecht Levi Professor of Bioethics and Public Policy at The Johns Hopkins University.

Membership in NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. It recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service. Members of the academy advise the U.S. government on medical and health issues.

New members are elected by current members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health. Rothman and Kahn are among 79 newly elected members.

As dean/CEO, Rothman oversees the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Health System, which encompasses six hospitals, hundreds of community physicians and a health plan. A molecular immunologist, Rothman focused his research on immune system molecules known as cytokines. He investigated the role these molecules play in the normal development of blood cells and the abnormal blood cell development that leads to leukemia. He also studied the function of cytokines in immune system responses to asthma and allergies.

Kahn works in a variety of areas of bioethics, exploring the intersection of ethics with health and science policy, including human and animal research ethics, public health, and ethical issues in emerging biomedical technologies. He is chair of the National Academies Board on Health Sciences Policy, and has previously chaired its Committee on the Use of Chimpanzees in Biomedical and Behavioral Research and the Committee on Ethics Principles and Guidelines for Health Standards for Long Duration and Exploration Spaceflights.