Skip Navigation

Phone Service Update

We apologize that callers may intermittently experience longer than usual wait times. We are working with our phone service provider as they try to improve the situation as soon as possible.

COVID-19 Vaccine Information |Patient Care Options | Visitor Guidelines | Coronavirus Information | Self-Checker | Get Email Alerts


Inaugural Stanley S. Siegelman, M.D. Resident Award

Inaugural Stanley S. Siegelman, M.D. Resident Award

In June 2019, the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science celebrated the inaugural Stanley S. Siegelman, M.D. Resident Award supported by the Stanley S. Siegelman, M.D. Leadership Fund. The award is being presented annually to a radiology resident who performs at a high level of excellence and embodies Dr. Siegelman’s commitment to education, training and academic scholarly achievements.

Dr. Siegelman, professor emeritus since 2011, presented the inaugural award to Erin N. Gomez, M.D., during radiology graduation. Dr. Gomez received her bachelor’s degree from the Florida Institute of Technology. She then earned her medical degree at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where she completed her residency in radiology. She served as chief resident for the diagnostic radiology class of 2019 and continues at Johns Hopkins as a fellow in body magnetic resonance. Dr. Gomez will join the Johns Hopkins faculty in 2020.

During the graduation ceremony, Dr. Siegelman was acknowledged for his distinguished career and his contributions to the department and the field of radiology. Numerous Johns Hopkins residents, fellows, faculty members and patients have benefited from his knowledge and dedication.

As a clinician, researcher, scientific editor and teacher, Dr. Siegelman was active at the inception of many of the major advances in imaging, including CT. In 1977, he directed Johns Hopkins’ first body CT scanner program, and used the new technology to image and describe many medical conditions for the first time.

Editor of Radiology from 1986 to 1998, Dr. Siegelman has been credited with developing the publication into the premier scientific journal for diagnostic radiologists. In addition, he is a founding member of the International Skeletal Society and the Society of Cardiovascular Radiology. In 1986, Dr. Siegelman served as chair of the executive committee of the American Roentgen Ray Society, and in 1987, he served as president of the Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance. The Radiological Society of North America awarded its prestigious Gold Medal to Dr. Siegelman in 1992.

A distinguished speaker, Dr. Siegelman has delivered 25 named lectures and, in 2001, received the Gold Medal from the American Roentgen Ray Society. He was also awarded a Gold Medal from the Chicago Radiological Society and from the Society of Computed Body Tomography and Magnetic Resonance. Dr. Siegelman has been granted honorary memberships in the European Society of Radiology, French Society of Radiology and German Radiological Society.

In addition to his contributions to advancements in radiology, Dr. Siegelman exemplifies what it means to be a professor, with his energy, enthusiasm and love for teaching residents and medical students. In 1976, he was awarded the George J. Stuart Award, given annually to an outstanding teacher of clinical medicine at Johns Hopkins. Dr. Siegelman continues to teach medical students and researchers. In 2018, he was named Teacher of the Year in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins.

The department is deeply grateful to Dr. Siegelman and to all of the generous donors to the Stanley S. Siegelman, M.D. Leadership Fund for their investment in this important educational resource. The ultimate goal of the Siegelman Leadership Fund is to raise $2.5 million to fully fund an endowed chair in Dr. Siegelman’s honor. The Siegelman Professorship will be an important resource in attracting and retaining superb faculty members who will make significant contributions to resident education and to strengthening the academic foundation of our specialty. Please consider supporting the Siegelman Leadership Fund so we may build this important endowment and honor Dr. Siegelman’s legacy in radiology.

back to top button