New Faculty Leadership

As we welcome new faculty leaders appointed in the 2023 academic year, we also thank past leaders for their years — often decades —of dedication to leading clinical divisions and research groups with great success. Our priority throughout all these changes remains adapting to the future and changing needs while providing support to all members of the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science. 

Peter Barker

Peter Barker, D.Phil.  
Director of Magnetic Resonance Research 
Barker has been serving as interim director of the Division of Magnetic Resonance (MR) Research for the past year. During that time, he spearheaded the merging of magnetic resonance research with the former neuroradiology research division. As an internationally renowned expert in clinical MR spectroscopy, clinical perfusion MR, and clinical MR neuroimaging, Barker will be the official Director of the MR research Division. The MR research division is composed of over 130 members and collectively receives more than $9 million annually from various funding agencies, including the National Institutes of Health, to support its research efforts. 

John Eng, M.D.

John Eng, M.D. 
Vice Chair of Faculty Academic Development 
As the inaugural vice chair of faculty academic development, Eng will focus on facilitating the academic progress of our faculty by working alongside and supporting our division chiefs to help them understand the requirements and process for promotion at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He will develop systems to track progress according to established metrics and will provide individualized coaching regarding promotion requirements. Eng is ideally qualified for this position with his long history of serving in leadership roles and on promotion committees within the department and the school of medicine.  

Kelvin Hong,

Kelvin Hong, M.B.B.Ch., M.B.B.S. 
Executive Vice Chair of Radiology and Radiological Science 
To ensure that radiology leadership can fully address needs within and outside the department, Hong has been appointed as the new executive vice chair of radiology and radiological science. He had served as the interventional radiology division chief for over eight years, and has demonstrated exceptional leadership and team-building, particularly during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic when interventional radiology was on-site 24/7. In this new role, Hong will support select day-to-day department functions and duties, particularly regarding faculty, trainees, and staff.  

Robert Liddell

Robert Liddell, M.B.B.Ch., M.S. 
Division Chief of Interventional Radiology 
Liddell had served as the director of medical student education for the Johns Hopkins Division of Interventional Radiology and as faculty adviser for the Seldinger Society, the Johns Hopkins medical student interventional radiology interest group. He had been acting as the interim division chief for interventional radiology since March 2023 and has exhibited the skills and vision required to continue leading the division to excellence. Before joining Johns Hopkins, Liddell was the vice chair of diagnostic radiology and director of interventional radiology at Mercy Medical Center. 

Martin Pomper

Martin Pomper, M.D., Ph.D. 
Chief of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Research 
As an internationally recognized leader in molecular imaging research with groundbreaking work in the development of radiopharmaceuticals, Pomper has decided to dedicate more time to the research efforts of the Division of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging after serving as division chief for over 7 years. He is renowned for his work on developing the PSMA-targeting tracer PyL, which was approved by the FDA in 2021 and is now in clinical use worldwide. Pomper serves in multiple leadership roles at Johns Hopkins and in national molecular imaging organizations.      

Harjit Singh

Harjit Singh, M.D. 
Director of Radiology Supply Chain 
Singh will be continuing his work in developing an unprecedented supply chain process in the radiology department in his new role as Director of Radiology Supply Chain. Over the past four years, he has established a process that includes extensive vetting, critical value analysis, onboarding with integrated education, and utilization review to ensure financial resources are being effectively utilized. The radiology department has been held up as a model for an inclusive physician-led supply chain process that values the input of a broad set of health system constituents. 

Lilja Solnes

Lilja Solnes, M.D., M.B.A. 
Division Chief of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging 
Solnes joined Johns Hopkins in 2014 and has served in several leadership roles, including program director for the nuclear medicine residency, PET/CT fellowship, and diagnostic radiology residency programs, for which she has received numerous recognitions — including the American College of Nuclear Medicine President’s Award. She has collaboratively developed a new theranostic service line, as well as a new ACGME-accredited residency program in molecular imaging that offers dual board certification in radiology and nuclear medicine. Solnes serves as the JHM site principal investigator for multiple national and international clinical trials and plans to continue her focus on incorporating new agents into clinical practice. 

Stefan Zimmerman

Stefan Zimmerman, M.D. 
Division Chief of Diagnostic Imaging  
An international leader in cardiac imaging, Zimmerman has served as the director of cardiac imaging since 2016 and has developed a dedicated cardiothoracic subsection, fellowship program, and resident cardiac rotation. As a world expert in interpreting ARVD MRI scans, Zimmerman is often invited to speak at national and international meetings and serves in leadership and review committees in numerous national organizations. His dedication to collaboration and excellence in patient care, education, and research positions him well to lead the diagnostic imaging division.