Class Notes - Fall 2023



Karl A. Schellenberg (faculty, physiological chemistry, 1968–73) has been retired for 25 years from Eastern Virginia Medical School, where he was a professor and chair of the Department of Biochemistry.


The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology in July 2022 named Clyde Flory Jr. as that month’s national Practice Champion, citing his four decades of contributions to the subspecialty and to patient care. He worked for three years to help pass Michigan HB 45-18 into law, which requires additional availability of EMS treatment for anaphylactic shock for 200,000 Michigan citizens.


Neil C. Raff continues to practice functional and integrative medicine two days a week at Integrated Quality Care in New York.


Edward R. Laws Jr. (HS, surgery, 1963–64; neurosurgery, 1966–71; faculty, surgery, 1972), director of the Pituitary and Neuroendocrine Center at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and professor of neurosurgery at Harvard Medical School, received the American Association of Neurological Surgery’s Distinguished Service Award in May and the 18th International Pituitary Congress’ Distinguished Achievement Award in June. He remains actively involved in the multidisciplinary neuro-oncology program associated with Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.


George Scheele has formulated a product called Factor4 Cognitive Health™ to treat dementia syndromes (DS) and Alzheimer’s disease (AD). He says that treated individuals with early DS have shown strong, positive results, and he’ll soon be testing patients with AD.


Nancy Allbritton is the Frank & Julie Jungers Dean of Engineering at Washington University and co-founder and scientific advisor at Altis Biosystems Inc. Previously, she was the Kenan Professor and chair of the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University. Along with her husband, Christopher Sims ’84, she was a co-founder of three prior companies, including Cell Biosciences (now Protein Simple), Intellego Inc. and Cell Microsystems Inc.


Hyam Levitsky (HS, internal medicine, 1985–87; fellow, oncology, 1988; faculty, 1989–2019) rejoined Century Therapeutics in April as president of R&D, a position he had held from 2019 to early 2023. Levitsky was formerly a professor of oncology, medicine and urology at the school of medicine and the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins, and was scientific director of the George Santos Bone Marrow Transplant Program at Johns Hopkins.


Jane Buckner is co-founder and scientific advisory board member at GentiBio Inc., and the president of Benaroya Research Institute. She also serves as affiliate professor of immunology and medicine in the University of Washington’s Division of Rheumatology.


James L. Sherley published a book by Cambridge Scholars Publishing in April 2022, Missing Elements in the Public Science Supporting the COVID-19 Spread Narrative in the US. Sherley is president and CEO of Asymmetrex LLC.


After serving as a staff pediatric surgeon and professor of surgery at the Children’s Hospital Los Angeles and the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine for 19 years, Kasper S. Wang became the Robert M. Filler Chair in Paediatric Surgery and head of the Division of General and Thoracic Surgery at The Hospital for Sick Children and the University of Toronto Temerty Faculty of Medicine in December 2022.


Mary Westergaard, an associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at University of Wisconsin Health, won a Clinical Educator Excellence Award at the institution’s recent Physician Excellence Awards event. She serves as the inaugural vice chair of education for her department.


Jason E. Liebowitz Jr. has authored Clinical Innovation in Rheumatology: Past, Present, and Future with Philip Seo. Highlighting research discoveries, the book discusses how big data, personalized medicine, new biomarkers for disease and other technological revolutions will shape the future of rheumatology over the next several decades.

Former Faculty, Fellows and Residents/House Staff

Mitchell Shuster Steiner (fellow, surgery 1986–88; fellow, urology, 1988–92; faculty, urology, 1992) is chair, president and CEO of Veru, a biopharmaceutical company focused on developing novel medicines for oncology and viral ARDS-related diseases.

James A. Rowley (fellow, pulmonary and critical care, 1992–95) was named president of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine in June. Until recently, Rowley had been a professor of medicine and division chief of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine at Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit. He is now a professor of medicine at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago.

Xiaokun Wang (fellow, ophthalmology, 2014–18) is the chief technology officer and co-founder of Uncaged Innovations, a biomaterial company making plant-based leather using little or no plastic.