Honors and Awards

Ben Park, M.D., Ph.D., was named associate dean for postdoctoral affairs for the school of medicine.

The Baltimore Orioles’ Birdland Community Heroes Program honored breast cancer prevention expert Kala Visvanathan, M.B.B.S. The program acknowledges community heroes who inspire through their spirited commitment to extend a hand in charity, service, hope and harmony.

The Dr. Susan Love Research Foundation presented Saraswati Sukumar, Ph.D., with its International Symposium on the Breast Collaborator Award for enthusiastic support and decades of partnership with the foundation.

Elissa Bantug received the Morgan Pressel Foundation Fifth Annual Kathryn Krickstein Pressel Award. Morgan Pressel Bush called Bantug “maybe the most deserving recipient we’ve ever had,” recognizing Bantug’s personal battle with breast cancer and her impressive survivorship work, taking her own experiences and helping others battling the disease.

Antonio Wolff, M.D., was included on Thomson Reuters’ 2017 list of the most highly cited researchers in the sciences and social sciences in the world. Wolff was also named one of the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Advocacy Champions for educating lawmakers on important cancer policies that help ensure high-quality cancer care in the U.S. remains available to all.

Breast Matters won a Spring 2017 Digital Health Award. The award honors high-quality digital health resources for consumers and health professionals.