Print This Page
Share this page: More

Minutes: December 15, 2004

 3 p.m., Wednesday, December 15, 2004
 School of Medicine Administration, Board Room 103

PRESENT: Drs. Belzberg, Bhattacharya, Bhatti, Blok, Choi, Cormack, Dagnelie, Denmeade, Dintzis, Gabrielson, Hansel, Hillis, Holcroft, Honeycutt,  Johnson-Greene,  Martinez, Martins, Niv, Pomper, Sterni, Walker, Mr. Watkins, Mss. McCall and Foy.
ABSENT: Drs. Adger, Ain, Awad, Caterina, Chan, Colecraft, Cooper, DeLeon, Francis, Hattar, Iacobuzio-Donahue, Kolodkin,  Leffler, Liu, Lorsch, Miller, Nicolaou, Roper, Ross, Sandone, Schulick, Segev, Woolf, Zellars, Ziegelstein, Mr. Grelotti.

GUESTS:  Drs. Clements and Dover, Mr. Gilbert.

I.  Minutes

The minutes of the November 10, 2004 meeting were approved.

II.  Faculty Website – Dr. Clements

Dr. Clements asked for Medical School Council volunteers to assist in developing a faculty website.  The part-time faculty advisory group suggested a website be developed to facilitate communication.  The goal is to have one site for all full-time and part-time faculty that would be a resource for faculty policies with links to other University websites.  The Office of Communication and Public Affairs will develop the site.  Medical School Council members were asked to provide suggestions for topics to be included on the site.

III. Update on the Clinician-Educator Committee – Dr. Hillis

Dr. Hillis reported the Clinician-Educator Committee has been discussing changes to the Gold Book relating to the pathways to promotion. Dr. Randy Barker is chairing a sub-committee on Gold Book revisions. A major goal is to make the promotion process transparent and to delineate the criteria for promotion for the various pathways. Following is a summary of the sub-committee’s deliberations to date:

1) The committee recognizes that there are different pathways to becoming an outstanding leader in one’s field and that education is an important component of all pathways.  Excellence in scholarship was noted as the most common element of recognition as a leader in one’s field.

2) Faculty members in all paths will carry the same set of titles and meet the same set of promotion criteria for appointment or promotion, but specific accomplishments for meeting those criteria will differ for each path.

3) Scholarship was redefined to encompass the generation of new knowledge and/or the dissemination of knowledge to others as long as these activities are accessible to critical assessment and accessible to future use by members of the academic community.  The phrase “outstanding records of scholarly achievement and teaching” was revised to “outstanding records of teaching and other scholarly achievement.”

4) Documenting the scholarship of teaching requires demonstration of accomplishments that are public, subject to critical review and analysis of outcome, and useful to others in the community beyond the School of Medicine.  Such documentation can take the form of a teaching portfolio.

5) Criteria for promotion to Professor was changed to “Candidates for Professor must have outstanding records of teaching and other scholarly achievement, must have achieved national leadership and in most cases, international recognition, and must rank among the foremost leaders in the field.”

6) The phrase “as documented by meritorious publications” was changed to “as documented by scholarly accomplishments.”

7) In the absence of promotion the Reappointment Review Committee must:

(i) advise the department director to nominate the individual for promotion with reappointment(s) at rank during the review process, not to exceed 2 years; or
(ii) recommend reappointment(s) at rank for 3-5 years with re-review 1 year prior to the end of that period; or
(iii) recommend a 1-year terminal appointment (for instructors or assistant professors) or 2-year terminal contract (for associate professors); or
(iv) In unusual circumstances, the Associate Professor Reappointment review committee may recommend contract to retirement (subject to approval of the ABMF and the Board of Trustees)

The sub-committee is also considering 3 to 5 year contracts for faculty who need additional time to accomplish criteria for promotion or in exceptional cases for faculty who provide exceptional service but are not expected to achieve criteria for promotion.

Maximum number of years at a particular rank and prescribed time frame for promotion have been deleted.  A leave of absence policy will be formulated.

Dr. Hillis will email slides of her MSC presentation to members so they will be able to share these proposed changes with their constituents.  Feedback from faculty on the proposed changes is requested.  It was noted these recommendations are still in the discussion stages.  Final recommendations will require both Medical School Council and Advisory Board approval.

IV. Diversity Committee – Dr. George Dover

Dr. Dover was appointed by Dean Miller in February 2003 to chair a 15 member faculty committee to look at the School’s ability to recruit and retain faculty in proportion to medical school enrollment and the population in general.  Dr. Dover updated the MSC on the committee’s work over the last ten months.  He noted the School’s success over many years in recruiting minority and women medical students, but less success at the faculty level.  He commented on the effort of the Department of Medicine’s Diversity Council to recruit under represented minorities.

The committee will be assessing successful efforts of institutions outside of medicine for characteristics that are important for success.  A strong mandate from leadership and an active mentoring program for those recruited have been identified as successful factors.

The committee is interviewing faculty and students regarding their observations.  Dean Miller has recognized diversity as a significant issue that will require significant efforts.

V.  Other Business

There being no further business this meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary E. Foy

Future Medical School Council meetings:

All meetings will be held in the School of Medicine Board Room (SOM 103), 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.

January 12, 2005

February 9, 2005

March 23, 2005

April 20, 2005

May 11, 2005

June 22, 2005