Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Print This Page
Share this page: More

Department & Ancillary Reviews

April 2015

The Director of a JHUSOM Department may determine when a required departmental review is required prior to submission of an application for IRB review and will appoint an individual or a committee to conduct such reviews. To assure compliance with institutional and regulatory requirements, the Organization has determined that there are several ancillary committee reviews required to assure compliance with institutional or regulatory requirements. The eIRB system has been configured to route an application directly to the required department or ancillary committee for review. For the purposes of review by the Committee on Outside Interests, it is the responsibility of an investigator to make required disclosures of potential conflicts of interest through the eOPC web-based disclosure system.

The chart below identifies the required pre and post department or ancillary reviews that must occur before a research study may begin.

Department/Ancillary Committee

Contact Information


All Children’s Hospital

Susan Ellie –
Holly Pageau –

Post IRB Approval

Baltimore City Health Department (BCHD)

Paul Overly -

Post IRB Approval

Cell Therapy

Joan Debelak –
Janice Davis Sproul -
Juliana Edwards -
Susan Fiorino -
M. Victor Lemas -
Josephine Logan -
Michelle Muth -
Angela Ondo -

Notification Only

Clinical Engineering

Roy Shipley -
Andrew Currie -
Charles Bacon -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Clinical Radiation Research Committee (CRRC)

Stan Wadsworth -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Conflict of Interest Committee (COI)

Julie Gottlieb -
Melissa Graf -
Michael Wolsh –
Christina Doty –
Mary Donahue –

Concurrent with IRB Review

Emergency Department Patients (ED)

Stephen Peterson -
Richard Rothman -
Lauren Sauer -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Foster Children (Department of Human Resources Social Services Administration)

Maria Tillman -
Amaza Reid -

Post IRB Approval

FM Kirby Center

Jim Pekar -

Pre IRB review

Graduate Medical Education Review

Jessica Bienstock -

Concurrent with IRB Review

High Risk Review Committee - BayviewNadia Hansel -
Susan Longley –
Fred Luthardt -

Concurrent with IRB Review

High Risk Review Committee - JHH

Liz Martinez -
Todd Brown - 

Concurrent with IRB Review

Howard County General Hospital

Judith Moss -
Robert Sheff -

Post IRB Approval

Imaging and Recording Oversight Committee (IROC)Renee Cover – rcover1@jhmi.eduConcurrent with IRB Review

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

Stephen Dahl -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR)

Matthew Courtemanche -
Shernice Madison -

Acknowledge Anytime

JHHS Pharmacy - BroadwayKenneth Shermock - ken@jhmi.eduPre IRB Review
JHU Applied Physics Lab

Daniel Anna -

Pre IRB Review

JHU Comparative Medicine

Janice Clements -

Pre IRB Review

JHU Emergency Medicine - Broadway

Stephen Peterson -
Richard Rothman -
Lauren Sauer -

Pre IRB Review

JHU Gynecology and Obstetrics

Andrew Satin -
Karin Blakemore –

Pre IRB Review

JHU History of Medicine

Randall Packard -

Pre IRB Review

JHU McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine (Genetic Medicine)David Valle - dvalle@jhmi.eduPre IRB Approval

JHU Ophthalmology

Peter McDonnell -
Sharon Solomon -

Pre IRB Review

JHU Pharmacology and Molecular SciencesPhilip Cole - pcole@jhmi.eduPre IRB Approval

JHU Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Pablo Celnik -

Pre IRB Review

JHU Physiology

William Guggino -

Pre IRB Review

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians Review (JHCP)

Wendy Greenberg -
Todd Nesson –

Concurrent with IRB Review

Johns Hopkins Clinical Research Network (JHCRN)Pre IRB Review

Johns Hopkins Health Care (JHHC)

Sarah Kachur -
Nicola Martin -
Melissa Sherry –

Notification Only

KKI Review

Roberta Babbitt -

Pre IRB Review

Maternal Fetal Medicine Tissue Committee (MFMTC)

Edith Gurewitsch Allen -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Medical Affairs

Redonda Miller -

Concurrent with IRB Review


Crystal Bland -

Notification Only

P&T (for JHM-IRB X only **)

 Craig Hendrix –

Concurrent with IRB Review

Pathology Department Review

Georges Netto -
Frederic Askin -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Prospective Reimbursement Analysis (PRA)

Karen Roz -

Concurrent with IRB Review

Sibley Memorial HospitalAmanda Moser - amoser6@jhmi.eduPre and/or Post Review


Dorothy Damron -
Janet Heussner-
Deborah Epstein -

Pre IRB Review

Student Affairs

Sarah Clever -

Concurrent With IRB Review

Suburban HospitalJackie Lobien - JLobien@SuburbanHospital.orgPre and/or Post Review