Skip Navigation
 
 
 
 
 
Print This Page
Share this page: More
 

Department & Ancillary Reviews

April 2013

The Director of a JHUSOM Department may determine when a required departmental review is required prior to submission of an application for IRB review and will appoint an individual or a committee to conduct such reviews. To assure compliance with institutional and regulatory requirements, the Organization has determined that there are several ancillary committee reviews required to assure compliance with institutional or regulatory requirements. The eIRB system has been configured to route an application directly to the required department or ancillary committee for review. For the purposes of review by the Committee on Outside Interests, it is the responsibility of an investigator to make required disclosures of potential conflicts of interest through the eOPC web-based disclosure system.

The chart below identifies the required pre and post department or ancillary reviews that must occur before a research study may begin.

Department/Ancillary Committee

Contact Information

Review

Baltimore City Health Department (BCHD)

Paul Overly - paul.overly@baltimorecity.gov

Post IRB Approval

Biosafety Office

Stephen Dahl - sdahl@jhu.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Cell Therapy

Jeffrey Bitzan - jbitzan1@jhmi.edu
Janice Davis Sproul - davisja@jhmi.edu
Juliana Edwards - edwarju@jhmi.edu
Susan Fiorino - fiorisu@jhmi.edu
M. Victor Lemas - mvlemas@jhmi.edu
Josephine Logan - loganjo@jhmi.edu
Michelle Muth - mmuth1@jhmi.edu
Angela Ondo - ondoan@jhmi.edu

Notification Only

Clinical Engineering

Roy Shipley - royshi@jhmi.edu
Andrew Currie - andcur@jhmi.edu
Charles Bacon - cbacon5@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Clinical Radiation Research Committee (CRRC)

Stan Wadsworth - stanwads@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Committee on Outside Interests (COI)

Julie Gottlieb - jgottlie@jhmi.edu
Melissa Graf - mgraf@jhmi.edu
John Nolan - jnolan15@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Emergency Department Patients (ED)

Stephen Peterson - speter28@jhmi.edu
Richard Rothman - rrothma1@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

FM Kirby Center

Jim Pekar - jpekar1@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB review

Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR)

Matthew Courtemanche - matthew@jhmi.edu
Shernice Madison - smadison@jhu.edu
Gerald Stacy - Gerry@jhmi.edu

Acknowledge Anytime

Graduate Medical Education Review

Julia McMillan - jmcmill@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Howard County General Hospital

Judith Moss - jmoss@hcgh.org
Robert Sheff - drbobsheff@comcast.net

Post IRB Approval

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

Stephen Dahl - sdahl@jhu.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

JHU Applied Physics Lab

Daniel Anna - mailto:dan.anna@jhuapl.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Comparative Medicine

Janice Clements - jclement@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Emergency Medicine

Stephen Peterson - speter28@jhmi.edu
Richard Rothman - rrothma1@jhmi.edu
Lauren Sauer - lsauer2@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Gynecology and Obstetrics

Andrew Satin - asatin2@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU History of Medicine

Randall Packard - rpackar2@mail.jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine (Genetic Medicine)David Valle - dvalle@jhmi.eduPre IRB Approval

JHU Neurosurgery

Kristina Dickson - kdickso1@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Ophthalmology

Peter McDonnell - pmcdonn1@jhmi.edu
Sharon Solomon - ssolomon1@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences Philip Cole - pcole@jhmi.eduPre IRB Approval

JHU Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Pablo Celnik - pcelnik@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

JHU Physiology

William Guggino - wguggino@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians Review (JHCP)

Wendy Greenberg - wgreenb3@jhmi.edu

Post IRB Approval

Johns Hopkins Clinical Research Network (JHCRN)Pre IRB Review

Johns Hopkins Health Care (JHHC)

Peter Fagan - pfagan@jhmi.edu
Martha Sylvia - msylvia@jhhc.com

Notification Only

KKI Review

Roberta Babbitt - babbitt@kennedykrieger.org

Pre IRB Review

Maternal and Fetal Research Committee (MFRC)

Edith Gurewitsch Allen - egurewi@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Medical Affairs

Redonda Miller - rgmiller@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

MedStar

Crystal Bland - crystal.s.bland@medstar.net

Notification Only

Office of Research Administration (ORA)

Karen Justice-White - kjustice@jhmi.edu

Post IRB Approval

P&T (for JHM-IRB X only **)

Brent Petty - bgp@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Pathology Department Review

J. Jackson - bjackso@jhmi.edu
Frederic Askin - faskin@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Prospective Reimbursement Analysis (PRA)

Karen Roz - rozka@jhmi.edu
oraclinres@jhmi.edu

Concurrent with IRB Review

Sibley Memorial HospitalAmanda Moser - amoser6@jhmi.eduPre and/or Post Review

SKCCC CRO Review

Dorothy Damron - ddamron@jhmi.edu
Janet Heussner- jheussn1@jhmi.edu
Deborah Epstein - epstede@jhmi.edu

Pre IRB Review

Student Affairs

Sarah Clever - sclever@jhmi.edu

Concurrent With IRB Review

Suburban HospitalJackie Lobien - JLobien@SuburbanHospital.orgPre and/or Post Review


AAHRPP

 

 

Traveling for care?

blue suitcase

Whether crossing the country or the globe, we make it easy to access world-class care at Johns Hopkins.

U.S. 1-410-464-6713 (toll free)
International +1-410-614-6424

 

 
 
 
 
 

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer