Skip Navigation
Search Menu
Neurology and Neurosurgery

In This Section      
Print This Page

Grades of Meningioma

How serious a meningioma is depends on its grade and location.

How meningiomas are graded:

The grade (I to III) of a meningioma is based on the tumor cells’ appearance under a microscope. Grade I is the most common and benign, and grade III is the most aggressive and is considered malignant.

Grade I meningiomaexample of a grade I meningioma  
Grade II meningiomaexample of a grade II meningioma
Grade III meningiomaexample of a grade III meningioma

There are three main grades (classifications) of meningiomas:

  • Grade I – Benign meningioma: This non-cancerous type of brain tumor grows slowly and has distinct borders. Approximately 78-81% of meningiomas are benign (non-cancerous).
  • Grade II – Atypical meningioma: Approximately 15-20% of meningiomas are atypical, meaning that the tumor cells do not appear typical or normal. Atypical meningiomas are neither malignant (cancerous) nor benign, but may become malignant. Grade II atypical meningiomas also tend to recur and grow faster.
  • Grade III – Malignant or anaplastic meningioma: Malignant or anaplastic meningioma is an aggressive type of brain tumor that tends to invade the parts of the brain nearest to the tumor. Approximately 1-4% of meningiomas are grade III (cancerous).

To make an appointment or request a consultation, contact the Johns Hopkins Meningioma Center at 410-955-6406.

Request an Appointment

Maryland Patients

Please fax your latest MRI reports and referrals (if necessary) to 410-955-8263.
Request an Appointment

Adult Neurology: 410-955-9441
Pediatric Neurology: 410-955-4259
Adult Neurosurgery: 410-955-6406
Pediatric Neurosurgery: 410-955-7337


Traveling for Care?

Whether you're crossing the country or the globe, we make it easy to access world-class care at Johns Hopkins.

Outside of Maryland (toll free)

Request an Appointment
Medical Concierge Services

International Patients

Request an Appointment
Medical Concierge Services

blue suitcase