Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Print This Page
Share this page: More

News & Events

**Please see our new website for updated news and events**

Monthly Meetings of the Center for Cell Dynamics

Monthly Meetings of the Center for Cell Dynamics and the Developmental Biology Research group are 30-minute overviews of an emerging topic, followed by research presentations by Center for Cell Dynamics staff. Meetings take place from 3:30-4:30 pm in Rangos room 490, followed by happy hour. For further information, please contact Wendy Novak,

Li He Award Image

Spring 2012 Schedule

February 10, 2012
Seydoux & Montell labs
“Cell polarity”

March 16, 2012
Montell & Wu labs

April 13, 2012
Chen & Robinson labs
“Cell topology”

May 11, 2012
Zhang & Inoue labs

June 15, 2012
Meffert & Huganir labs
“Live cell imaging”

Upcoming Center for Cell Dynamics Symposium - Spring 2013

Stay tuned for a symposium covering the latest and most fundamental developments in cell dynamics, including a host of world-class scientists showcasing new horizons that will shape the field.


Montell Lab

Li He Award Image
Li He's award winning image

Li He

Hogan Tang

  • First place, CCD Image Contest
  • Second place, Drosophila Image Contest
  • Finalist, Nikon Small World Image Competition 
  • Honorable Mention in the Olympus Bioscapes Competition

Andrew Lab

SeYeon Chung and Rebecca Fox

  • Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00) (Postdoctoral Individuals). The Pathway to Independence (PI) Award is designed to facilitate a timely transition from a mentored postdoctoral research position to a stable independent research position with independent NIH or other independent research support at an earlier stage than is currently the norm. The PI award will provide up to 5 years of support consisting of two phases. The initial phase will provide 1-2 years of mentored support for postdoctoral research scientists. This phase will be followed by up to 3 years of independent support contingent on securing an independent tenure-track or equivalent research position.

Ewald Lab

Andy Ewald

  • American Association of Anatomists 2011 Morphological Sciences Award, "for outstanding contributions to the field of epithelial morphogenesis"

Eliah Shamir

  • Medical Scientist Training Program, MSII/PhDII, BCMB Graduate Program
  • 2011 BCMB Retreat Oral Presentation Award – 1st Runner-Up, best student research talk
  • 2011 Kelly Award – awarded by the JH Institute for Basic Biomedical Sciences to the top three 1st-year graduate students in the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Yue Lab

David Yue

  • 2011 Kenneth S. Cole Award, presented by the Biophysical Society for long-standing and seminal contributions to the understanding of membrane biophysics, as well as calcium and electrical signaling.  The award was first given in 1973, and past awardees include Nobel laureate Erwin Neher.

Ivy Dick

  • 2011 Siebel Scholar, given to recognize exceptional graduate students from the most prestigious business, computer science, and bioengineering graduate schools.  The award is given for academic excellence and leadership.  Five graduate students from 16 institutions were honored in the Class of 2011 Siebel Scholars and received a $35,000 award for their final year of graduate studies.

Zhang Lab

Jin Zhang