Skip Navigation
Print This Page
Share this page: More


August 2014

Yun Guan, MD, PhD, received funding from the Blaustein Pain Research Fund for his project titled "Spinal Mechanisms of Pain Inhibition from Electric Stimulation of Large Afferent Fibers."

Jennifer Lee-Summers, MD, received a research grant from Covidien for her project titled "Cerebral NIRS Monitoring and Neonatal Outcomes Following Birth Asphyxia."

Rebecca Aslakson, MD, PhD, was selected to receive the 2015 AAHPM Early Career Investigator Award from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. This is a prestigious award given to only one member per year.

Lauren Berkow, MD, gave Grand Rounds on Airway Management at Lankenau Medical Center, Philadelphia.

Lauren Berkow, MD, was invited as international faculty at the 2nd International Airway Symposium, to be held in Santiago Chile, September 5, 6.

Lauren Berkow, MD, joined the Maryland Hospitals for Healthy Environment Advisory Board.

Dr. Charles Brown's abstract, The Association of Postoperative Delirium and Cognitive Decline 4-6 Weeks after Cardiac Surgery, was chosen for presentation in the 2014 ASA Best Abstracts Session.

Romergryko Geocadin, MD, is the overall chair of the 12th annual meeting of the Neurocritical Care Society scheduled for September 10-14, 2014, in Seattle, WA. He is also the vice president of the Neurocritical Care Society.

Jade Hewitt, Vincent Naguit, RN, and Shivani Patel, MD, were each named Service Stars by the Johns Hopkins Department of Service Excellence.

Rosa Sanchez received certification from the American Society of Anesthesia Technologists and Technicians (ASATT).

Lauren Berkow, MD, will be featured at the Maryland Health Care Sustainability Leadership Council on September 9th to discuss methods for reducing anesthetic gasses (potent greenhouse gasses), tips for greening the operating room, and how to engage physicians in sustainability. She will also speak on sustainability and physician involvement at the Practice Greenhealth Greening the OR symposium in Chicago on September 11th.


© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer