An image of the Charlotte R. Bloomberg Children's Center and Sheikh Zayed Tower

The Robert A. Abraham, MD Endowed Lecture

Robert A. Abraham, MD

Robert A. Abraham, MD

Robert A. Abraham, M.D. was born in Pennsylvania.  He received his bachelor’s degree from Franklin and Marshall College, and his medical degree from the University of Maryland School of Medicine.  He practiced general medicine in the Towson area for eight years before training in anesthesiology at the Baltimore City Hospital under Peter J. Safar, M.D. from 1959 to 1961.

Dr. Abraham worked in obstetric anesthesia private practice before becoming a full time academic obstetric anesthesiologist.  From 1964 to 1975, he worked for the Albany Medical Center in New York and joined the Johns Hopkins Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine in 1975.  At Johns Hopkins, he was the first full time Director of Obstetric Anesthesia, and was chosen as Teacher of the Year in 1985. 

In 1987, he retired from Johns Hopkins Medicine.  During his retirement, he became an accomplished cook and his library of cookbooks rivaled that of his medical texts.  Dr. Abraham died February 3, 2005. 

The Abraham Lectureship was established in 2000 by former colleagues and residents to recognize Dr. Abraham’s contributions and dedication to obstetric anesthesia education and patient safety, and to Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Make a Donation to the Robert A. Abraham, MD Lectureship Fund

The Eighth Robert A. Abraham, M.D. Endowed Lecture

“Post-Cesarean Pain Management: Past, Present, and Future”

Brendan Carvalho, MBBCh, FRCA, MDCH

Brendan Carvalho, MBBCh, FRCA, MDCH
Chief, Division of Obstetric Anesthesia and Associate Professor
Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine

Thursday, September 4, 2014, 7:00 a.m.

Division of Obstetric Anesthesiology
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine - Hurd Hall
Watch webcast

Brendan Carvalho, MBBCH, FRCA, MDCH is the Chief of the Division of Obstetric, Gynecologic and Fetal Anesthesiology and Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
at the Stanford University School of Medicine.

He received his medical degree from the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa; obtained his FRCA from the Royal College of Anaesthetists in the United Kingdom; and completed an Obstetric Anesthesia fellowship at Stanford University in California.

Dr. Carvalho has published extensively in the field of Obstetric Anesthesia with over 100 peer-reviewed articles, editorials, reviews, book chapters, and commentaries.  He has received several NIH, pharmaceutical and institutional grants, and has won a number
of research awards including Best Research Paper at the annual scientific meetings of the Society of Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP), the Obstetric Anaesthetists’ Association,
and the Canadian Anesthesiologists Society.  Dr. Carvalho is a member of a number of committees in SOAP, the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the Stanford Medical Center, and the Stanford University Medical School.  He serves on several journal editorial boards including the International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia and is an ad-hoc reviewer for over 10 medical journals.  Dr. Carvalho has won the Teacher of the Year award at SOAP and at Stanford University’s Department of Anesthesia.  He has presented at more than 90 regional, national, and international meetings and has served several times as a visiting professor.  His current scholarly activities are focused on clinical and translational research in the field of cesarean and labor analgesia, and perinatal pharmacology.


Anesthesiology Events

Discovery and Innovation Calendar

Anesthesiology Grand Rounds

ACCM Grand Rounds take place Thursdays at 7 AM in Hurd Hall. Windows Media Player is required to view webcasts.

Third Annual Mark C. Rogers Endowed Lectureship – Joseph Stauffer, DO, MBA
Watch webcast >>

7/28: Quality Assurance Committee Meeting

8/4: Paco Herson, MD

8/11: Marjorie Stiegler, MD

8/18: Ling Hu, MD

State of the Department – Colleen Koch, MD, MS, MBA, FACC, Director
Watch webcast >>

2016 Donald W. and Marjorie Benson Lectureship on Pain Medicine – Tony Yaksh, MD
Watch webcast >>

Archived webcasts >>


Out of State and International Patients

Make a Gift



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System, All rights reserved.

Legal Disclaimer