An image of the Charlotte R. Bloomberg Children's Center and Sheikh Zayed Tower

15th Annual ACCM Research Day

Over more than a decade now, Research Day has become entrenched in our department’s culture. It is well recognized for the quality of science presented and spirit of camaraderie that it engenders.

The Research Day Committee wishes to thank this year's presenters, moderators, and abstract reviewers. Without you there would be no Research Day. This year's event was very well attended, a testament to our department's commitment to research.

Research Day Committee
Weidong Gao, MD (Faculty Organizer)
Claire Levine •  Nick Flavahan, PhD  • April Maith • Anissa Williams


15th Annual ACCM Research Day Poster Awards

Cardiac and Vascular Medicine

First place: Fumin Chang, Research Associate
Second place: Kazuyo Yamaji-Kegan, PhD, Assistant Professor

Education and Communication

First place: John Sampson, MD, Assistant Professor
Second place: Kate Steffen, MD, Clinical Fellow


First place: Qian Xu, MD, Research Fellow
Second place: Mark Bicket, MD, Chief Resident

Patient Safety

First place: Maggie Lesley, MD, Resident
Second place: Bickey Chang, Research Program Coordinator

Perioperative Medicine

First place: Steven Frank, MD, Associate Professor
Second place: Osman Salaria, Research Assistant

Neuroscience: Inflammation and Traumatic Brain Injury

First place: Elizabeth Nance, MD, Research Fellow
Second place: Anthony Asemota, MD, Research Fellow

Neuroscience: Perioperative and Sleep

First place: Sapna Kudchadkar, MD, Assistant Professor
Second place: Orion Furmanski, MD, Research Fellow

Neuroscience: Ischemia and Stroke

First place: Che-Feng Chang, MD, Research Fellow
Second place: Qiang Li, MD, Research Fellow

Pulmonary Medicine, Immunity, and Sepsis

First Place: Sarah Goodman
Second Place: Krishnan Chakravarthy, MD, Resident



Research Day Grand Rounds

Guest lecturer: Roderic G. Eckenhoff, MD

Vice Chair for Research, Austin Lamont Professor of Anesthesiology & Critical Care, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

"Anesthesia, Surgery and Alzheimers: A Smoking Gun, but Where’s the Victim?"

Watch webcast


Anesthesiology Events

Discovery and Innovation Calendar

Anesthesiology Grand Rounds

ACCM Grand Rounds take place Thursdays at 7 AM in Hurd Hall. Windows Media Player is required to view webcasts.

9/29: Quality Assurance Committee Meeting

10/6: Abraham Endowed Lecture – Shad Deering, COL, MD, FACOG

10/13: Richard Traystman, PhD

10/20: Patient Based Learning Discussion

10/27: Quality Assurance Committee Meeting

11/3: Glenn Woodworth, MD

Archived webcasts >>


Out of State and International Patients

Make a Gift



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System, All rights reserved.

Legal Disclaimer