In This Section      
Print This Page

Wilmer congratulates Alfred Sommer, MD, MPH, 2011 Ophthalmology Hall of Fame inductee

May 10, 2011

The American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ASCRS) named Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS, of Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health as its 2011 inductee into the Ophthalmology Hall of Fame. Dr. Sommer is Dean Emeritus of the Bloomberg School of Public Health, Professor of Ophthalmology, and University Distinguished Service Professor.  Previous Hall of Fame inductees from Wilmer include A. Edward Maumenee, MD,  J. Donald M. Gass, MD, Frank B. Walsh, MD, Arnall Patz, MD and Jonas S. Friedenwald, MD.


Pictured L to R: Peter J. McDonnell, MD, William Holland Wilmer Professor of Ophthalmology and Wilmer Director; Alfred Sommer, MD, MPH; and Roger F. Steinert, MD, Irving H. Leopold Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology, Director, Gavin Herbert Eye Institute, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of California Irvine.


L to R: Dr. and Mrs. Albert T. Milauskas and Alfred Sommer, MD, MPH.

Request an Appointment

Maryland Patients



Traveling for Care?

Whether you're crossing the country or the globe, we make it easy to access world-class care at Johns Hopkins.

Outside of Maryland (toll free)

Request an Appointment
Medical Concierge Services

International Patients

Request an Appointment
Medical Concierge Services

blue suitcase