In This Section      
Print This Page

Committee on Outside Interests

The Committee on Outside Interests, appointed by the Dean, reviews arrangements that have potential for conflict of interest. The Committee makes recommendations to the Dean of the School of Medicine (or the Dean's designee, the Vice Dean for Research) and to the Johns Hopkins Medicine IRBs.

Committee members serve three-year terms, and cannot serve more than two consecutive terms. Representatives of the the Office of Policy Coordination, the JHU Office of General Counsel, the Johns Hopkins Technology Transfer Office, and the Office of Research Administration participate in Committee meetings. The Committee meets once a month.

The current members of the Committee are:

Voting Members 
Jeanne Clark, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P.Interim Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Jennifer Elisseeff, Ph.D.            Professor, Opthalmology
Andrew Ewald, Ph.D.Associate Professor, Cell Biology
Charles Flexner, M.D.Professor, Medicine, Clinical Pharmacology
John Flynn, M.B.A, M.D, M.Ed.Professor, DOM General Internal Medicine, VP Johns Hopkins Physicians, Associate Dean and Executive Director CPA
Christopher Ross, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Jeffrey Rothstein, M.D., ChairProfessor, Neurology
Karen Swartz, M.D.Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Bruce Trock, Ph.D.Professor, Urology
Victor Velculescu, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Oncology
Jason Weiner, J.D.General Counsel 
Donald Zack, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Ophthalmology
Pamela Zeitlin, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Pediatrics
Non-Voting Participants 
Emily Branyon, M.A.Disclosure Specialist, Office of Policy Coordination
Mary DonahueDisclosure Specialist, Office of Policy Coordination
Christina Doty, J.D., M.A.Director, Outside Interests, Office of Policy Coordination
Stephen FisherAssociate Director, Office of Research Administration
Julie Gottlieb, M.A.Associate Dean, Office of Policy Coordination
Landon King, M.D.Executive Vice Dean, Professor, Medicine, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Antony Rosen, M.D.Vice Dean for Research, Director, Division of Rheumatology, Professor Of Medicine, Professor of Pathology
Neil VelosoExecutive Director, Technology Transfer, JHTV
IRB Staff MemberOffice of Human Subjects Research

Committee FAQs

What should I do if I am interested in serving on the Committee on Outside Interests?

Faculty interested in serving on the Committee should contact the Office of Policy Coordination.

May I attend the meeting and present my case to the Committee?

Individuals with matters before the Committee generally do not attend Committee meetings. Investigators are invited to meet with the Committee on occasion, particularly for complex cases.