Skip Navigation


The Johns Hopkins Department of Radiology is internationally recognized for its leadership in innovation and leading-edge research in all aspects of molecular, functional, and anatomic imaging. This is reflected in the funding it attracts, the number of Gold Medals awarded to faculty, the impact of faculty publications, service by faculty on the boards of journals, societies and review panels, and the election of faculty to the National Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Inventors and to fellowships of leading national and international societies


Radiology Research Related Committees and Members

  • Established in 2016, this committee oversees the reviewing of the Rad_Britestar funding program, as well as other internal funding programs. This committee also oversees assisting new investigators withm grant submissions. The committee also oversees research activities such as the Radiology Research Day and the Radiology Research Retreat.


    Karen Horton, M.D., Zaver Bhujwalla, Ph.D. , Peter Barker, Ph.D., George Sgouros, Ph.D., Jeff Bulte, Ph.D.

  • Established in 2016, the purpose of this committee is to provide a forum for division directors and research leaders to discuss strategic decisions and governance issues related to research in the


    Karen Horton, M.D., Zaver Bhujwalla, Ph.D., Jeff Bulte, Ph.D., Kristine Glunde, Ph.D., Peter van Zijl, Ph.D., George Sgouros, Ph.D., Susumu Mori, Ph.D., Dara Kraitchman, Ph.D., Hanzhang Lu, Ph.D.

  • The mission of the Radiology Office of Research Administration (RORA) Oversight Committee is to serve as a liaison between RORA and Department faculty, and to enhance the operations and functions of the RORA.


    Hanzhang Lu, Ph.D. (Chair), Kristine Glunde, Ph.D., George Sgouros, Ph.D., Cliff Weiss, M.D., Jeff Bulte, Ph.D., Sridhar Nimmagadda Ph.D., Nick Puts Ph.D., Jay Pillai M.D., Jan Fritz M.D., Linda Chu. M.D.

  • Established 2010, the purpose of the CDAC committee is provide guidance for the career development of Radiology faculty members. 67 faculty members have met with the CDAC committee since Feb. 2014.


    Zaver Bhujwalla, Ph.D. (Chair), Dmitri Artemov, Ph.D., John Eng, M.D., Kristine Glunde, Ph.D., Ulrike Hamper, M.D., Susumu Mori, Ph.D., Martin Pomper, M.D., Ph.D., George Sgouros, Ph.D., Peter van Zijl, Ph.D., David Yousem, M.D., Jeff Bulte, Ph.D., Peter Barker, Ph.D., Hanzhang Lu, PhD, Christos Georgiades, MD, PhD

  • Established 2018, the purpose of this committee is to identify and host speakers for Radiology Grand Rounds.


    Shadpour Demehri, M.D. (Chair), Sridhar Nimmagadda, Ph.D. (Chair), Katarczyna Macura, M.D., Kristine Glunde, Ph.D., Michael Jacobs, Ph.D.


2019 Research Division Fast Facts

fast facts infographic

fast facts 2


Radiology Research Related Committees

The Research Division has an dedicated collection of committees and special offices to oversee funding, provide strategic decisions and governance, enhance operations and career development.

back to top button