Skip Navigation

William Walker Awards - Summer 2018

Medical Student Research in Psychiatry

Dean F. MacKinnon M.D. -  Walker Award Coordinator

Seven rising second-year medical students from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine are the recipients of this year’s William Walker Awards for Psychiatric Research, awarded by the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science. This is a competitive award given annually for the best summer research projects in areas related to psychiatry. All of the research proposals we received were serious and worthy projects, but these seven came out on top for the criteria of overall scientific quality, importance of the student’s role in the research, and relevance of the research to psychiatry. 

  • Zane Frazer will work with Lauren Jansson of the Center for Addiction and Pregnancy to study the factors that promote or block treatment-seeking among pregnant women with substance use disorders.     
  • Katerina Lin is engaging with pediatric critical care specialist Sapna Kudchadkar to explore delirium in critically ill children.
  • Benjamin Johnson, along with Catherine Davis-Takacs from the psychiatry and behavioral science department, is looking at the behavioral neuroscience of prefrontal neuronal activation and microglial inhibition in an animal model of galactic cosmic radiation damage.
  • Youkyung Sophie Roh will evaluate potential mediating effects of commonly used treatments for depression and MS therapies, with neuroimmunologist Ellen Mowry.
  • Abby Fahnestock teams up with Drs Wilms-Floet (KKI), Hughes (Medicine), and Comfort (Institute of the History of Medicine) to examine how medical schools train students to think about intellectual disability.
  • Adam D’Sa plans to identify potential biomarkers to predict the course of illness in patients with first episode psychosis, under the mentorship of oncologist Sarah Wheelan.                
  • Erica Stern aims to research disease activity and mental health in pediatric lupus patients, with pediatrician Sangeeta Sule and psychologist Lindsay Borden.

 Congratulations to these students and best wishes for a productive summer to all of the students who submitted an entry.

back to top button