Skip Navigation

Jeffrey H. Siewerdsen, Ph.D., M.S.

Jeffrey H. Siewerdsen, Ph.D., M.S.

Headshot of Jeffrey H. Siewerdsen
  • Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Research Interests

Medical imaging and image-guided interventions, with focus on advanced x-ray imaging modalities such as cone-beam CT more


Dr. Jeffrey Siewerdsen is a professor of biomedical engineering, computer science and radiology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and a member of the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center. His research focuses on the physics of medical imaging, with a focus on advanced x-ray computed tomography and spectral imaging modalities, the mathematics of image quality, the design of novel imaging systems for new applications and 3-D deformable image registration.

Dr. Siewerdsen founded the I-STAR lab as a collaborative endeavor among technical disciplines (such as engineering and physics) and clinical disciplines, such as radiology, surgery and radiation therapy. One of his team’s greatest developments is the LevelCheck algorithm—an advanced 3-D – 2-D image registration approach that leverages high-speed computing to provide surgeons with an on-demand, labeled visual depiction of the spine and surgical target in image acquired in the operating room.

Dr. Siewerdsen received his undergraduate degree in physics from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities and earned his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Michigan. He joined the Johns Hopkins faculty in 2009.

Dr. Siewerdsen is an active member of the AAPM and serves on its board at large. His work on the Level Check algorithm was recognized with the 2013 Spine Technology Award. more


  • Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Associate Professor of Radiology and Radiological Science
  • Professor of Neurosurgery
  • Professor of Oncology

Departments / Divisions

Centers & Institutes



  • M.S.; University of Michigan (Michigan) (1994)
  • Ph.D.; University of Michigan (Michigan) (1998)
  • B.A.; University of Minnesota (Duluth) (Minnesota) (1992)

Research & Publications

Research Summary

Dr. Siewerdsen researches issues of basic imaging physics, quantitative description of multi-dimensional imaging performance and imaging task, and the development of novel multidimensional imaging technologies.


Lab Website: Imaging for Surgery, Therapy and Radiology (I-STAR) Lab

Selected Publications

View all on PubMed

Wang AS, Stayman JW, Otake Y, Kleinszig G, Vogt S, Gallia GL, Khanna AJ, Siewerdsen JH. “Soft-tissue imaging with C-arm cone-beam CT using statistical reconstruction.” Phys Med Biol. 2014 Feb 21;59(4):1005-26. doi: 10.1088/0031-9155/59/4/1005.

Carrino JA, Al Muhit A, Zbijewski W, Thawait GK, Stayman JW, Packard N, Senn R, Yang D, Foos DH, Yorkston J, Siewerdsen JH. “Dedicated cone-beam CT system for extremity imaging.” Radiology. 2014 Mar;270(3):816-24. doi: 10.1148/radiol.13130225.

Otake Y, Wang AS, Webster Stayman J, Uneri A, Kleinszig G, Vogt S, Khanna AJ, Gokaslan ZL, Siewerdsen JH. “Robust 3D-2D image registration: application to spine interventions and vertebral labeling in the presence of anatomical deformation.” Phys Med Biol. 2013 Dec 7;58(23):8535-53. doi: 10.1088/0031-9155/58/23/8535.

Stayman JW, Dang H, Ding Y, Siewerdsen JH. “PIRPLE: a penalized-likelihood framework for incorporation of prior images in CT reconstruction.” Phys Med Biol. 2013 Nov 7;58(21):7563-82. doi: 10.1088/0031-9155/58/21/7563.

Friedman SN, Fung GS, Siewerdsen JH, Tsui BM. “A simple approach to measure computed tomography (CT) modulation transfer function (MTF) and noise-power spectrum (NPS) using the American College of Radiology (ACR) accreditation phantom.” Med Phys. 2013 May;40(5):051907. doi: 10.1118/1.4800795.

Contact for Research Inquiries

Email me

Activities & Honors


  • Terwilliger Prize for best doctoral dissertation in Physics, University of Michigan, 1999
  • Spine Technology Award, 2013
  • Fellow, American Associate of Physicists in Medicine, 2012
  • The Sylvia Fedoruk Award for the Best Paper Published in the Field of Medical Physics for work carried out a Canadian institution, 2002
  • Farrington-Daniels Award for best Medical Physics paper, AAPM, 2001
  • Sylvia Sorkin Greenfield Award for best Medical Physics paper, AAPM, 2000

Professional Activities

  • , AAPM Science Council
  • Associate Editor, Medical Physics Journal Board of Editors, 2006 - 2009
  • Chair, AAPM Scientific Program Subcommittee 2010 – present, 2005
  • Co-Director, AAPM Scientific Program Subcommittee, 2005 - 2006
  • RSNA Liaison, Scientific Program Committee, 2010
  • Vice Chair, AAPM Imaging Physics Committee, 2007 - 2011
Is this you? Edit Profile
back to top button