Christopher Jackson, M.D.

Christopher Mitchell Jackson, M.D.

Headshot of Christopher Jackson
  • Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery


Acoustic Neuromas, Arteriovenous Malformations (AVM), Brain Tumors, Cerebral Aneurysms, Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery, Gliomas, Meningiomas, Metastatic Brain Tumors, Trigeminal Neuralgia more

Request an Appointment

Insurance Information

Main Phone

Outside of Maryland & Washington D.C.

Request Appointment

International Patients

Request Appointment


Johns Hopkins Outpatient Center (now called Levi Watkins, Jr., M.D., Outpatient Center)

Appointment Phone: 410-955-6406
601 N. Caroline St.
5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21287
Johns Hopkins Outpatient Center (now called Levi Watkins, Jr., M.D., Outpatient Center) - Google Maps


Christopher Jackson, M.D., is a neurosurgeon who sees patients at the Johns Hopkins Outpatient Center. Dr. Jackson specializes in brain tumors and cerebrovascular disorders, including glioma, meningioma, acoustic neuroma, trigeminal neuralgia, brain metastasis, arteriovenous malformation and aneurysms.

Dr. Jackson earned his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he also completed his neurosurgical residency. Dr. Jackson is also certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery. During his residency, Dr. Jackson was honored with multiple distinctions, including the Frank L. Coulson Jr. Award for Clinical Excellence, the Irving J. Sherman Award for Resident Achievement, the Harvey Cushing Hunterian Research Award, and was elected to Alpha Omega Alpha.

Dr. Jackson is an active researcher who has published over 35 peer-reviewed articles on brain tumor and cerebrovascular immunology. His laboratory focuses on how brain tumors evade the immune system and become resistant to immunotherapy. Additionally, Dr. Jackson’s laboratory explores the formation of cerebral aneurysms and inflammatory complications of cerebral aneurysm rupture. more


  • Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery
  • Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences

Departments / Divisions

Centers & Institutes



  • MD; Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (2013)


  • Neurological Surgery; Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (2020)

Board Certifications

  • American Board of Neurological Surgery (Neurosurgery) (2022)

Research & Publications

Selected Publications

View all on PubMed

Jackson, CM., Kochel, CM., Nirschl, CJ., Durham, NM., Ruzevick, J., Alme, A., Francica, BJ., Elias, J., Daniels, A., Dubensky, TW., Lauer, P., Brockstedt, D., Baxi, EG., Calabresi, PA., Taube, JM., Pardo, CA., Brem, H., Pardoll, DM., Lim, M., Drake, CG. Systemic Tolerance Mediated by Melanoma Brain Tumors is Reversible by Radiotherapy and Vaccination. Clinical Cancer Research. 2016: 1516.2015.

Mathios, D., Kim, JE., Mangraviti, A., Phallen, J., Park, C., Jackson, CM., Garzon-Muvdi, T., Kim, E., Theodros, D., Polanczyk, M., Martin, A., Suk, I., Ye, X., Tyler, B., Bettegowda, C., Brem, H., Pardoll, D., Lim, M. Anti-PD-1 antititumor immunity is enhanced by local and abrogated by systemic chemotherapy in GBM. Science Translational Medicine. 2016. Dec. 21.(8).

Jackson, CM., Choi, J., Lim, M. Mechanisms of immunotherapy resistance: lessons from glioblastoma. 2019. Nature Immunology. September; 20(9):1100-1109.

Zeng J. See AP, Phallen J, Jackson C, Belcaid Z, Ruzevick J, Durham N, Meyer C, Harris T, Albesiano E, Pradilla G, Ford E, Wong J, Hammers H, Tyler B, Brem H, Tran P, Pardoll D, Drake C, Lim M. Anti-PD-1 blockade and stereotactic radiation produces long-term survivors in mice with intracranial gliomas. International Journal of Radiation Oncology, Biology, Physics. 2013 Feb 22 doi:10.1016/j.ijrobp.2012.12.025.

Ruzevick J, Jackson C, Pradilla G, Garzon-Mudvi T, Tamargo RJ. Role of the haptoglobin protein in carotid artery aneurysm formation. Neurosurgery. 2012. Oct 23.

Activities & Honors


  • Harvey Cushing Hunterian Research Award, Johns Hopkins University, 2019
  • Alpha Omega Alpha, Johns Hopkins University, 2018
  • Frank L. Collison Jr. Award for Clinical Excellence, Johns Hopkins University, 2019
  • Irving J. Sherman Award for Resident Achievement, Johns Hopkins University, 2018
  • Physician Scientist Training Program, Johns Hopkins University, 2017
Is this you? Edit Profile
back to top button