In This Section      

Nominations Now Open for 2019 Clinical Awards

See more in:

Nominations Now Open for 2019 Clinical Awards

Nominations Now Open for 2019 Clinical Awards
Janet Anderson

Date: 05/10/2019

The nomination period is open for this year’s Johns Hopkins Medicine Clinical Awards for Physicians and Care Teams.

Physicians, nurses and care teams are enthusiastically seeking potential nominees from among their colleagues who consistently deliver safe, innovative and respectful care to patients.

Organized by the Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians (OJHP), the awards program attracted some 375 nominations in 2018 from across the health system — the highest number since the program launched five years ago. With a goal to exceed that number, Stephen Sisson, OJHP vice president of clinical operations, encourages clinicians “to pause and think about someone or some team that delivers great care.” The winners will be celebrated at an awards ceremony in Baltimore on Tuesday, Dec. 3.

For inspiration, faculty and staff can look back at last year's 43 award recipients. In addition to being called out for such characteristics as a thoughtful bedside manner, valuable technical expertise and collaborative approach, honorees were recognized for their work with a diverse range of care projects. One team, for example, examined hundreds of students at two public charter schools for vision, risk for asthma and fitness; another created a task force to address prenatal drug use; and another developed a tool to help clinicians identify and treat patients at risk for sepsis.

A multidisciplinary team of engineers, physicians and nurses from Howard County General Hospital earned an Armstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety for designing a sepsis tool called Targeted Real-Time Early Warning System, or TREWS. As a result, fewer patients are going to the Emergency Department and fewer are experiencing secondary organ failure, says Suchi Saria, the assistant professor in health system informatics who led the team. Over the past two years, TREWS has been deployed in hospitals across the health system, most recently at The Johns Hopkins Hospital.

In addition to the Armstrong Award, the other clinical award categories for which nominations are being accepted are The William Baumgartner, M.D., Physician of the Year; Innovations in Clinical Care; Excellence in Service and Professionalism; Clinical Collaboration and Teamwork; and Best Consulting Physician.

“I know that there is an enormous amount of exemplary clinical care being delivered by people who want to do no more than deliver the best care possible, regardless of any external recognition,” Sisson says. “This goes on all the time, and my hope is the selections this year will bring some of those unsung heroes to the fore.”

The clinical awards program is open to physicians and care teams from The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Howard County General Hospital, Sibley Memorial Hospital, Suburban Hospital, Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital and Johns Hopkins Community Physicians.