In This Section      

Cultural and Linguistic Services

With the increasing diversity of the United States' population, physicians are more and more likely to encounter situations that require the delivery of culturally competent care, access to a vast array of language services, and supportive health care organizations.

The following web sites have a plethora of information that is beneficial to both physicians and patient advocates:

National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care

The CLAS Standards were developed by the Office of Minority Health in December 2000 and updated in 2013 as a means to provide effective, equitable, understandable, respectful, and quality care and services that are responsive to diverse cultural health beliefs and practices, preferred languages, health literacy, and other communication needs.

There are 15 CLAS Standards, which are divided into three themes:

  • Governance, Leadership, and Workforce
  • Communication and Language Assistance
  • Engagement, Continuous Improvement, and Accountability

Newly enhanced CLAS Standards are now available for download

For more information please see: