In This Section      

Announcements & Recognition

In alignment with the American Association of Medical Colleges, the Office of Diversity and Cultural Competence will adopt the definition of UIM or “underrepresented in medicine” instead of URM (formerly used), which refers to “underrepresented minority.”

Faculty Recognition

Dr. Lisa Cooper

Dr. Lisa Cooper has been selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP) as the recipient of the prestigious James D. Bruce Memorial Award for distinguished contributions in preventive medicine. Center Director Lisa Cooper has also been honored by being elected to the Association of American Physicians (AAP).

Dr. Kathleen Page

Dr. Kathleen Page has been recognized for her community endeavors

Diversity Leadership Council (DLC) Announcements

Comprised of about 50 members from across all nine divisions of Johns Hopkins, the Diversity Leadership Council serves as an advisory council to University President Ronald Daniels. General members are selected each year through a nomination process; we also have several leadership officials who serve as ex-officio members. Our role is to encourage diversity and inclusion as they are already flourishing at Hopkins and to urge us forward in areas where we need to improve.

Diversity Matters

In recent years, organizations and leaders in Hopkins Medicine have been recognized for their efforts to build a more diverse and inclusive environment. Our goal is to take their successes and spread them throughout Hopkins. The Johns Hopkins Diversity Leadership Council (DLC) Diversity Recognition Awards serve to acknowledge outstanding accomplishments of faculty, staff and students whose demonstrable efforts foster greater appreciation, advancement and celebration of diversity and inclusiveness in the Johns Hopkins culture and environment.

Eligibility Criteria

All faculty, staff and students at Johns Hopkins University, the Health System and Applied Physics Laboratory (APL), except current members of the Council, are eligible to participate. Individuals may self-nominate or be nominated by any Johns Hopkins community member. Nominations should describe the nominee's commitment to the advancement of diversity, inclusion, or multiculturalism as demonstrated by efforts and accomplishments.

Guidelines and Nominations

In winter of each academic year, the Council publishes an invitation to the Johns Hopkins community to submit nominations for the Award. Each nominee's materials are reviewed by an Award Committee, comprised of members of the Council, and nominees are notified of their selection status in March. The annual Awards Ceremony is held in May and awards are presented by University President Ronald Daniels. View the photo gallery of the 2014 JHU Diversity Recognition Awards Ceremony.

2014 Bayview and School of Medicine Award

  • Amanda Brown, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Daniel Buccino
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Deidra Crews, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Panagis Galiatsatos, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Rafael Guerrero-Preston, DrPH, MPH
    Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Danielle Hauck
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Adil Haider, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Gerardo Lopez-Mena, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Berenice Nava, M.D.
    Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Annual MLK Jr. Commemoration at Johns Hopkins 

Begun in 1982, the Johns Hopkins Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration honors the Nobel Peace Prize winner's legacy of nonviolent activism and community service. Past speakers include Maya Angelou, Harry Belafonte Jr., Stevie Wonder, James Earl Jones, Bishop Desmond Tutu, Jesse Jackson, Danny Glover, Rosa Parks, and Coretta Scott King. The commemoration is hosted by retired Johns Hopkins cardiac surgeon Levi Watkins Jr., a former associate dean for postdoctoral programs and the founder of the annual event. Members of the Johns Hopkins community are presented with the Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Award, honoring their outstanding commitment to volunteer community services and humanity in the spirit of the life that King lived. View footage of the 2014 commemoration. The 2015 award recipients are:

2014 MLK Jr. commemoration honors recipientsThe 2015 MLK Community Service Award recipients: Front row from left - Margaret Strong, Theresa Barberi, Janine Coy, Adi Noiman and Rochelle Mariano. Back row - Albert Chi, Harlisha Martin and Nelson Moody Sr. Photo credit: Keith Weller