In This Section      

Promise and Progress - Honors & Awards

Promise & Progress - A Spectrum of Achievements

Honors & Awards

Date: January 15, 2015

Nurse Executives

The Kimmel Cancer Center was the site of the biannual meeting of the National Cancer Institute-designated comprehensive cancer centers’ nurse executives. The two-day meeting was hosted by Sharon Krumm, Ph.D., R.N., director of nursing and clinical administrator, and addressed a variety of topics, including survivorship, symptom management, and radiation treatment for pediatric patients.

Friends of Oncology

Congratulations to those who were honored by Friends of Oncology with nursing clinical excellence, advanced practice, research nurse, and clinical technician awards for excellence in providing comprehensive and compassionate care to patients and families:

Lynn Billings, B.S.N., R.N., CHPN, BC

Katie Boyle, M.S.N., R.N.

Christopher Dillman

Haley Gibbs, Pharm.D., BCPS

Nicole Herman, B.S.N., R.N.

Amy Horne, B.S.N., R.N., OCN

Nikkya Johnson-Brooks

Lisa Katulis, B.S.N., R.N., M.H.A., M.B.A.

Nikkya Johnson-Brooks

Ella Mae Shupe, R.N.

Marie Swisher, M.S.N., R.N., CWCN, AOCNS

Ann Toland

Bridget Trias, R.N., OCN

Karla Maria Viloria, B.S.N., R.N.

Betsy Zink, M.S., R.N., C.C.N.S., C.N.R.N


Deborah Armstrong, M.D., was appointed chairperson of the Food and Drug Administration’s Oncologic Drugs Advisory Committee.  

Ross Donehower, M.D., was inducted into the Miller-Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence, an initiative sponsored by the Center for Innovative Medicine to recognize masterful physicians who are steadfastly committed to clinical excellence for the benefit of the patients and communities that they serve.

Patrick Forde, M.B.B.Ch., received a LUNGevity Foundation Career Development Award for his project titled “Neoadjuvant anti-PD-1 antibody, Nivolumab, in resectable nonsmall cell lung cancer NSCLC.”  The foundation’s supports “the nation’s future research leaders who keep the lung cancer field vibrant with new ideas.”

Gregory Kirk, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H., was awarded a National Cancer Institute (NCI) Grant for Global Health. The grants promote research collaborations among NCI-designated cancer centers and institutions in low and mid-income countries.  Kirk will collaborate with Posiano Ocampo, from Makerere University in Uganda, on HIV infection, viral hepatitis and liver cancer research in Uganda. Johns Hopkins was one of only 15 institutions to receive an award.

Louise Knight, director of the Harry J. Duffey Family Patient and Family Services Program, was selected for the Medicare and Medicaid Advisory Panel on Outreach and Education. The panel advises the Secretary of Health and Human Services and the administrator of the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services on the effective implementation of the Medicare, Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program.  A growing focus of the panel is on Affordable Care Act enrollment among vulnerable and underserved communities in the exchanges and the expanded Medicaid program.?

Clinical nurse specialist Mikaela Olsen, R.N., M.S., received an honorable mention by the Medical Book Awards as co-author for the book Hematologic Malignancies in Adults.

The Melanoma Research Alliance gave its Team Science Award to Bert Vogelstein, M.D.; Drew Pardoll, M.D., Ph.D.; and Evan Lipson, M.D.  The three-year grant will be used to develop new therapeutic approaches and improve existing treatments.  Projects will include the identification of biomarkers that predict response to therapy and studies of multi-drug combinations.

Bert Vogelstein, M.D., was one of three inaugural recipients of the $5 million Lustgarten Foundation Distinguished Scholars award. The foundation is the largest private foundation in the U.S. dedicated to funding pancreatic cancer research.

The HERA Women’s Cancer Foundation, a nationally recognized ovarian cancer nonprofit, awarded its Outside the Box grants to Lingling Xian, M.D., Ph.D.; Blanca Valle, M.D., Ph.D.; and Christian Schuetz, Ph.D., to pursue novel ways to detect and treat ovarian cancer. The investigators plan to study personalized targeted stem cell therapies, biomarkers for early detection, and immune therapies.


Pediatric Oncology Awards:

The St. Baldrick’s Foundation announced funding for six of our pediatric oncologists:  Sama Ahsan, M.D., received a Young Investigator Grant to study the epigenome of brain stem glioma, a difficult-to-treat form of pediatric brain cancer.  Colleen Annesley, M.D., received the Tap Cancer Out St. Baldrick’s Fellow award for her research on specific mutations that could lead to new targeted therapies for acute myeloid leukemia. Christopher Gamper, M.D., Ph.D., received the St. Baldrick Scholar award, with support from the McKenna Claire Foundation, to study immune therapies and strategies to reduce late effects of chemotherapy and radiation therapy. Jeffrey Huo, M.D., Ph.D., was awarded a Young Investigator Grant to characterize the epigenetic origins of the retinoblastoma tumor-initiating cell.  Jeffrey Lukish, M.D., received a supportive research grant for research aimed at preserving fertility in pediatric cancer patients. Eric Raabe, M.D., Ph.D., received the Heroes for Hannah Award for his research to develop better models of high-risk medulloblastoma brain cancer to test new therapies. 

Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation awarded Innovation Grants to Alan Friedman, M.D., and Linda Resar, M.D.  Friedman will use his funding for research on glioblastoma multiforme brain cancer and ways to recruit normal cells to hold it in check.  Resar will study the genetic causes of relapse and resistance in acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Friedman and Resar were the only pediatric oncologists in Maryland awarded Innovation Grants.

Josh Lauring, M.D., Ph.D., follows Elana Fertig, Ph.D., as the recipient of the Cleveland Foundation Internal Junior Faculty Award.




Find Physicians Specializing In...