In This Section      
Print This Page

Promise and Progress - Honors and Awards

Leading the Way Fall 2009 Winter 2010

Honors and Awards

By: Valerie Mehl
Date: December 1, 2009

Stephen B. Baylin, M.D., was awarded the Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for basic and translational cancer research. He was selected for his pioneering work in the field of cancer epigenetics. The prize is considered one of the most prestigious international
awards in cancer research.

The Damon Runyon Foundation has awarded its first ever continuation grants. Patrick Brown, M.D., and Andrea L. Cox, M.D., Ph.D., were among the recipients and will each receive an additional two years of funding totaling $300,000.

Leisha Emens, M.D., Ph.D., earned the Greater Baltimore Area YWCA President’s Award for her work in developing a breast cancer vaccine. The award recognizes women who exemplify the YWCA’s tradition of leadership by combining professional excellence with a personal commitment to helping others.

The Kimmel Cancer Center Patient Education Coordinator, Joanne Finley, R.N., M.S., was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Education Network to Advance
Cancer Clinical Trials (ENACCT).

The Ramzi Cotran Young Investigator Award was presented to Christine Iacobuzio-Donahue, M.D., Ph.D. The award is given by the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology to researchers who have contributed significantly to the diagnosis and understanding of human disease.

Sian Jones, Ph.D., received the Alfred Blalock Research Award for her project Signaling Pathways in Pancreatic Cancer Revealed by Global Genomic Analyses. Kenneth Kinzler,
Ph.D., was her sponsor.

Breast cancer survivor, advocate, and fund raiser Harriet C. Legum was inducted into the Maryland Women’s Hall of Fame. The honor is given to Maryland women who have made unique and lasting contributions to the economic, political, cultural and social life of the state, and who provide visible models of achievement for tomorrow’s female leaders.
Legum is a member of the Kimmel Cancer Center Advisory Council and chaired the committee that raised the money for the Center’s Breast Cancer Research Chair and Fellowship.

Jonathan Schneck, M.D., Ph.D., will lead a team of researchers, including Jonathan Powell, M.D., Ph.D., to determine precisely how the human immune system works. The research is funded by a $10.3 million NIH grant—the largest basic immunology
grant ever received by Johns Hopkins.

Lillie Shockney, R.N., B.S., M.A.S., received the Oncology Nursing Society’s Excellence in Survivor Advocacy Award. The award recognizes her achievements and involvement in breast cancer patient advocacy. Shockney also received the Health Network Foundation Service Excellence Award.

Pediatric Oncology Director Donald Small, M.D., Ph.D., received the Frank A. Oski Award from the American Society of Pediatric Hematology/ Oncology. The award honors leading pediatric hematology and oncology clinicians and basic scientists.

Victor Velculescu, M.D., Ph.D., won the 2009 Outstanding Achievement Award in Cancer Research from the American Association of Cancer Research. The award recognizes young investigators who have made significant cancer discoveries.

The American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Georgia Vogelsang, M.D., for advancing treatment against chronic graft-versus-host disease. Vogelsang was the first woman to receive the award.

The American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Science of Oncology Award went to Bert Vogelstein, M.D. He was selected for his role in discovering the specific genes and mutations responsible for colorectal cancer and for establishing a genetic model that explains how most solid tumors form and progress.

Stephen Yang, M.D., received the first Arthur B. and Patricia B. Modell Professorship in Thoracic Surgery. Yang’s research interests include using molecular techniques to screen for lung cancer and to predict cancer recurrence following surgical resection.

The Kimmel Cancer Center’s Fellows Research Day Awards for basic research were presented to Karen S. Sfanos, first prize, Angelo De Marzo, M.D., Ph.D. preceptor;
Cheryl M. Koh, honorable mention, Angelo De Marzo, M.D., Ph.D., preceptor; and Vivian Weiss, honorable mention, Elizabeth Jaffee, M.D.,  preceptor. Clinical and Translational Awards went to Kathleen Greenberg, first prize, Donald Small, M.D., Ph.D., preceptor; Eric Lutz, first prize, Elizabeth Jaffee, M.D., preceptor; and Anjali Mishra, first prize, Barry Nelkin, Ph.D., preceptor.

The Center’s Director’s Teaching Awards in Clinical Oncology went to Richard F. Ambinder, M.D., Ph.D., hematologic malignancies program, Allen R. Chen, M.D., Ph.D., pediatric oncology program, Deborah Frassica, M.D., department of radiation oncology and molecular radiation sciences, and Rosalyn Juergens, M.D., lung cancer program. Kenneth Kinzler, Ph.D., cancer biology program, received the Director’s Teaching Award in Laboratory-Based Cancer Research

Find Physicians Specializing In...