Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Update

Search Menu

Class Notes

By Decade Winter 2019


Harry A. Quigley (HS), of Baltimore, professor of ophthalmology in the medical school, has received the Joanne G. Angle Award from the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), the organization’s highest honor. The award recognizes Quigley’s service as a past ARVO executive vice president and past editor-in-chief of ARVO’s journal, Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science.


Shelby R. Wilkes, of Atlanta, has been inducted into the Hall of Fame of Kennesaw State University’s Michael J. Coles College of Business. A vitreoretinal surgeon, Wilkes earned an M.B.A. from Coles College in 1998. He has served on the college’s advisory board, helped establish its international business fellowship program, created several endowed scholarships and is active in the Black Alumni Society. He continues serving on the college’s diversity committee.


Barbara A. Montford, of Sanford, Florida, has been named president of the Dade County Medical Association (DCMA). A urologist, Montford became the first African-American woman to join the DCMA since its founding in 1903.


Alan M. Yahanda (HS; fellow, surgery, 1991), of Newnan, Georgia, a surgical oncologist, has been named chair of the Department of Surgery at the Cancer Treatment Centers of America in Atlanta. He also is chief of staff there.


Arthur L. Burnett II (HS; fellow, urology, 1992; surgery, 1990; faculty), of Baltimore, has been named by the Baltimore Orioles as a Birdland Community Hero. A professor of urology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and director of both the basic science laboratory in neurourology and the sexual medicine fellowship program, Burnett has been a benefactor of and mentor for the Baltimore nonprofit Mentoring Male Teens in the Hood, which helps youngsters in Baltimore’s most disadvantaged neighborhoods.


Andrew M. Cameron, of Baltimore, has been named executive vice director of the Department of Surgery at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. In this new position, he will assist the director in faculty recruitment and retention, lead academic mentorship and faculty development activities, and assist in building institutional partnerships and collaborations to facilitate the growth of service lines. Cameron now is an associate professor of surgery, director of the adult and pediatric liver transplant programs, and chief of the Division of Transplantation. Besides his clinical interests in hepatitis C and liver cancer, he also is active in efforts to increase organ registration using social media.


Rita R. Kalyani (HS; fellow, endocrinology, 2007), of Baltimore, associate professor of medicine and editor-in-chief of the Johns Hopkins Diabetes Guide, has received the American Diabetes Association’s Vivian Fonseca and Nagendran Family Diabetes Research Award, which recognizes diabetes research focused on the South Asian, Asian-American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander populations. Kalyani receives funds from the National Institutes of Health for her groundbreaking research into the body composition and physical function of people with diabetes as they age, particularly among diverse populations.

Ami A. Shah (fellow, rheumatology, 2007), of Baltimore, associate professor of medicine and director of clinical and translational research in the Johns Hopkins Scleroderma Center, received the Edyth Bush Foundation’s Prize for Young Investigators at the 2018 World Scleroderma Congress. The prize includes 15,000 euros to support Shah’s research, which focuses on the broad spectrum of patients with scleroderma and related disorders. Her clinical practice includes management of scleroderma complications, such as Raynaud’s phenomenon, digital ischemia, cardiac dysfunction and cancer.


Joshua T. Vogelstein, of Baltimore, assistant professor of biomedical engineering, has received a $250,000 grant from the Palo Alto, California-based Schmidt Family Foundation to fund his innovative research in both Johns Hopkins’ Institute for Computational Medicine and the Center for Imaging Science. Vogelstein’s research centers on using large and complex data sets to develop methods for understanding the connecting patterns in the mental and physical worlds. He will collaborate with neuroscientist Richard Huganir, professor and director of the Department of Neuroscience, to explore the relationship between genetics and experiences and synaptic connections in the brain.

Faculty, Fellows and House Staff

John R. Burton (HS; fellow, medicine, 1970), of Baltimore, professor and director of the Johns Hopkins Geriatric Education Center, has received the 2018 John A. Harford Foundation Trustees Award for his decades of dedication to improving the care of older adults.

Ronald R. Peterson, president emeritus of the Johns Hopkins Health System, former president of The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and adviser to the dean/CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, has received the American Hospital Association’s Award of Honor and the Outward Bound Cornerstone Award from the Outward Bound Baltimore/Chesapeake Bay educational nonprofit, which recognized Peterson’s exemplary leadership of a major health care provider.

David M. Yousem (HS; fellow, radiology, 1988), of Baltimore, has been named the Radiological Society of North America’s Outstanding Educator for 2018. Yousem is one of only 20 radiologists ever to receive this honor from the group, which has 54,000 members worldwide.

Robert C. Bollinger Jr. (fellow, infectious diseases, 1992), of Baltimore, has been named the school of medicine’s inaugural recipient of the Raj and Kamla Gupta Professorship in Infectious Diseases. He is director of the Center for Clinical Global Health Education.

Antony Rosen (HS; fellow, rheumatology, 1993), of Baltimore, professor of medicine, chief of the Division of Rheumatology and vice dean for research, has been awarded the American College of Rheumatology’s 2018 Excellence in Investigative Mentoring Award. Rosen has headed the rheumatology division at Johns Hopkins Bayview since 2003. For the past 15 years, it has been recognized by U.S. News & World Report as the finest rheumatology program in the nation.

Brandon Bankowski (HS, gynecology and obstetrics) is a board-certified reproductive endocrinologist with extensive experience in egg donation, in vitro fertilization, surrogacy and genomics. He is a practicing partner at Oregon Reproductive Medicine, where he works to improve the genetic health of his patients through increased awareness, screening and state-of-the-art preimplantation genetic testing. He is widely respected and experienced in helping LGBTQ-intended parents build their families through donor-egg surrogacy in the U.S.

Michael C. Schubert (fellow, otolaryngology, 2004), associate professor of otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, has been named a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association. The fellowship recognizes his exemplary contributions to the association and the profession.

Jaishri Blakeley (HS, neurology, 2007) has become the inaugural Marjorie Bloomberg Tiven Professor in Neurofibromatosis at Johns Hopkins, where she is director of the Comprehensive Neurofibromatosis Center.

Panagis Galiatsatos (HS; fellow, pulmonary medicine, 2018), instructor in medicine and co-director of Medicine for the Greater Good (MGG), a Center for Innovative Medicine program at Johns Hopkins Bayview, has been named to the 2018 VIP List compiled by The Daily Record, Maryland’s legal and business newspaper. The MGG program trains medical residents about the socioeconomic determinants of health.